We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old and dingy”

Children's Fairyland
Ranked #9 of 120 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Children's books come to life at this ten-acre outdoor park that displays 30 colorful sets depicting make-believe lands of Alice in Wonderland, Captain Hook and others.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“old and dingy”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I remember coming here when I was a kid...and little has changed. It needs new paint, and they need to clean up some of the clutter. It has potential, but it does not live up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    81
    16
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I go here at least 3 times a year, not that I want to but because my daurghter elem school seems to not no where else to go in oakland

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank oaklandfinest l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its Darling”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its darling. My kids are 2 and 5 and love it. Much older then 5 would not be so into it. For the price we paid it entertained my kids in Oakland for a couple hours. Its not an all day thing but awesome for a bit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykay559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
317 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Clean affordable fun for little ones”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great for young familes (7 or under). Good for 3-4 hours at most, not too crowded, parking not too difficult if you arrive before 11am and overall a good experience. Think of it as a small theme park for little kids and only little kids. Ok to bring your own food and plenty of seating areas. You can also buy these little plastic keys to turn these story boxes. Good treat for the kids.

The place is not very big but that's good with small kids.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Parks”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This historical park was created by Walt Disney as a prototype to what is now Disneyland. It is a secure environment for children. No one is allowed in without a child. It is almost worth having a child to come here. It is well worth being a child to play here!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Fairyland also viewed

 

Been to Children's Fairyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing