We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special food”
Review of Burma Superstar

Burma Superstar
Ranked #4 of 1,277 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Burmese
Restaurant details
Fremont, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Special food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There was a brief wait at 6 on a Sunday, but I could see a huge crowd waiting by 7. The food was interesting, and well prepared. The service is a bit slow, but there is always a frantic rush in this restaurant ( and the other locations). MY other Burmese restaurant Nan Yang in rockridge is a bit blander in taste and ambiance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    94
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Everyone I bring her loves this place!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Taste can be so personal. So, when friends come from out of town and I bring them here and am always pleasantly surprised that people rave about it and remember it long afterwards.

I love the vegetable curry and the green tea salad which can be prepared vegan (without the dried shrimp). I never tire of this place.

If you come at the peak dinner hours, be prepared to wait. Also it is extremely crowded and noisy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimi_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a great first meal in the Bay!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I and two grown sons ate here last night to find exquisitively constructed dishes with fresh and flavorful ingredients. The tea leaf salad was wonderful, the chili lamb superb, as was the shrimp curry. The cuisine is interesting and the atmosphere wonderful. Our eldest son lives in Oakland and it is his favorite restaurant. Can't go wrong.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mw180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“More flavors than we had time to taste!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our first time here -and our first time at any Burmese restaurant- and it will not be our last. WE LOVED IT!!

The restaurant is in Temescal, an Oakland, CA neighborhood we lived in more than 20 years ago and is now definitely on the way up.

The three of us shared three dishes and it was plenty of food:
1) Mango salad (that -surprise- was delightfully "explained" and mixed at our table)
2) Chicken and shrimp (done clay pot style to perfection)
3) Salmon (so light and tasty it almost floated off the plate)

The wine list is short but excellent.

Wow!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YayoNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What more could one want.”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

If anything, better than their SF location. Great food, great services, great prices. Their samusa soup will knock your sox off!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank sacgrommet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burma Superstar also viewed

 

Been to Burma Superstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing