We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chilling low key and easy”
Review of The Trappist

The Trappist
Ranked #104 of 1,261 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, American, Belgian, Brew Pub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Chilling low key and easy”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I walked by it on my way from Jack London Square - trouble was I was looking for it. Make sure you find this funky little slice of coolness. Friendly staff, comfy vibe and good eats. The drinks are good if you like Belgian styles. If not they have plenty of other handles. The grilled cheese was everything it is cracked up to be. Cheesy heaven with shrooms. Nice

Helpful?
Thank zkrscasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
2 reviews
“You like beer and snacks? Who doesn't?”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

For the past 5 years, I have been indulging my passion in consuming delicious craft beer. If there are tasty snacks to boot, well then that it just a little slice of heaven isn't it. The Trappist has both of these things contained in the perfect environment to kick back and enjoy some Belgian brew on a cold East Bay night. Watch your budget though things are a bit pricey. Not too bad, but not the cheapest either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sechslexia96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORT ALLEGANY
Level Contributor
459 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Old World Beers and Ambience”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

You may choose either of two doors to enter Trappist, one to the front bar, the other to the back bar - one hopping and loud, the other cozy and conversational. We opted for the latter, but after a few beers, I can't remember which it was. No matter, it will be readily apparent. We entered an old world space of brick and wood, low lit. An excellent selection of beers here, carefully tapped into a baffling assortment of pint and stemmed glasses that inspires me to further investigation. The menu offers almonds, olives, cheeses and chocuterie, salads and sandwiches. We chose four cheeses with prosciutto and salami, which were accompanied by baguettes, almonds, and apple slices. It was easy to imagine being in Brussels or Bruges - a convivial background for a good long talk.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANNAMARGARET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something for every beer lover”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Popped in fairly late night on the recommendation of a local. Atmosphere: dark, warm & cozy. Great beer Menu including a wide variety of belgians but also many unique local brews to choose from. They like to serve the beer they like to drink themselves. The staff answered all my questions and were quite helpful. The crowd was a bit hipsterish, but friendly enough. I would like to have gone deeper into the beer list, but time was short and it was late. I would go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeriS372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful gem for beer lovers”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had lunch here last Saturday. Great little place ! Great selection of beer on tap, stouts, sours, belgian ales, etc. We had lunch, too and the food was surprisingly good "foodie" quality. Food menu is small, but the bacon/mushroom and reuben sandwiches were outstanding. The persimmon salad was awesome, too. We ate on the back patio, nice and quiet. Highly recommended !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldRockKnucklehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trappist also viewed

 

Been to The Trappist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing