We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - Reserve Ahead”
Review of Commis

Commis
Ranked #91 of 1,281 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Vista
Transit: Nearest Bart Station: Macarthur Taxis are often available outside the station for a quick ride to our restaurant.
Description: Commis restaurant serves a cuisine driven by modern and classic culinary traditions and is composed of ingredients that are grown, harvested, and foraged from the land that surrounds us. We offer a nightly coursed menu. ***If you or your dining companions have any food allergies, please note them when completing your reservation. Allergies will be accommodated with a spontaneous vegetarian preparation. Thank you for helping us best serve your party. THE CHEF'S COUNTER SEATING OFFERS A FRONT ROW VIEW OF OUR OPEN KITCHEN AND AVAILABILITY FOR THE COUNTER IS MANAGED DIRECTLY BY THE RESTAURANT.
Oakland, CA
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Outstanding - Reserve Ahead”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Commis only has about 6 tables. You have to reserve a while in advance.
They only offer a multi-course prix fix menu. They will substitute for preference and allergy, but that is it.
They avoid the most absurd "molecular" nonsense in favor of excellent ingredients creatively and well prepared.
The beverage pairings are thoughtful, and unusual.

This is an excellent spot for a very special evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    11
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food is a work of art”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The food here is truly a work of art. The chefs take great care to present the dishes as works of art to be enjoyed visually while still tasting delicious. If you are looking for a big meal or looking to be full this may not be the place for you. There are 12 courses but the portions are small with 1-3 bites each plate. We didn't feel full at the end of the meal but felt satisfied. There are a few of the items I wouldn't have minded a few more bites of. I will say that about an hour before we shared a 2 scoop sundae from Fenton's down the street.
The staff is friendly and helpful. We opted to buy a bottle of wine with our dinner instead of the wine pairing and the sommelier was very helpful in picking something that would go with the whole meal. The whole experience lasts about 2 hours so I agree with the other reviewer to be sure and go with someone who you don't mind talking with for 2 hours.
I would recommend this restaurant for those who enjoy the whole experience of food in taste and presentation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pixiepowered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

One if the most stunning meals our family of four has enjoyed.
Didn't miss a beat through 7 perfectly balanced courses.
We all loved it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty small portions to the extreme”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I had the $85 set menu with wine pairings for our anniversary. As others have said, it's an experience but we would not return. There were eight courses plus a couple of hors d' oeuvres and a palate float before dessert or cheese. The first four courses were delicious with the wine, however they consisted of one oyster, then two mussels, then a small abalone that wasn't completely pounded out, and a sweet poached egg yolk with spices and creamy potato.
The following sablefish didn't come off that well in our view. The following mushroom soup was a split decision and the beef sirloin was good but only consisted of two, maybe three bites and the pinot noir pairing was not that great. The dessert was small and delicious but my wife had the cheese plate instead that was average at best.
I went to the gym the next morning and actually lost a pound after an eight course meal!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Tiny, tasty, terrific!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went to Commis after having an unforgettable meal at Meadowood, and would have to say that for the tremendous difference in price between the two, this is a real find! We sat at the Chef's table (highly recommended, only six seats), and watched the team of about six chefs orchestrate the evening meal for everyone - often with the aid of tweezers for food arrangements. They work in very tight quarters, but quietly and seamlessly to produce very inventive and tasty food. We didn't want to talk with them when they were busy, but when they weren't, we engaged them. The whole team were enthusiastic and extremely courteous. Would love to live closer and visit more often. Reservations are a must - the place is tiny.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mnbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Commis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing