We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good View, Good Food”
Review of Bocanova

Bocanova
Reserve with OpenTable
Bocanova is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,261 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: South American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Embarcadero W
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good View, Good Food”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Overall review (Bad, OK, Good): Food = Good; Service = OK; Ambience = Good

Food: Oysters on the half shell, chile relleno, grilled octopus. Portions are a bit bigger than tapas. For myself and my dining partner, the portions were the perfect portion to get you full but not overly full.

Oysters were good, meaty. Chile relleno - twist to the norm; had a good balance. Grilled octopus - also good balance of flavors. Had a good tang from the lemon.

Service: OK. Took a while for the server to initially come to the table.

Ambience: Great outdoor seating with a nice view and people watching.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJT611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    122
    47
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Jack London Square”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The food here is always top-notch, and they have such a wide variety of dishes that there is something for everyone. And don't leave without trying the chocolate croissant bread pudding. I'm not a bread pudding fan typically, but it was so good we went back a second night to have it again. The only bummer was that they took the chipotle sweet potato gratin off the menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WYOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Breakfast With a View”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We got to Jack London Square early and decided to have breakfast before shopping at the Farmer's Market. Bocanova was recommended by a friend, and she was right, the food was great. We had to option of sitting inside or outside. We chose outside after the waitress said she would have the heater turned on. It was still chilly in the mornings, but the heater worked great and we enjoyed breakfast sitting outside. The food was great, the service wonderful, and the view beautiful. We each had the Veggie Omelete and potatoes. It was very good, served hot and not an outrageous amount. And the coffee was wonderful - best coffee I've had in a restaurant in a very long time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, good view”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We'd eaten here before but forgot about it, since we only visit Oakland, and our daughter doesn't live that close to Jack London Square. I don't know how we forgot...this is definitely a restaurant we'll go to again. Their version of French Fries are too good to pass up. All the food was great, the portions very reasonable. I'd recommend this again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akitalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incredible food, fantastic view! ”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Met old friends for dinner. Impromptu, did not have reservations. Arrived to a sparse indoor crowd. Told that they were booked for reservations inside, but the heated patio was available. Chilly nite. But, we decided to go for it. Gorgeous view. Right on the Oakland estuary. Peaceful. Fantastic sunset. Patio heaters not all that effective,... nonetheless. A server came and provided the menus, was very knowledgeable about the dishes & wine pairing. Ordered the pork chop w/chimmichuri sauce. Think pork baby porterhouse. Grilled perfectly. Moist, tender, just the right seasoning. The sauce was fresh herbs, garlic, lemon & olive oil. Unctuous! The grilled artichokes were to die for. Lemon, garlic & olive oil. Tender crisp grilled artichokes w/grilled spring onions & shaved egg. Awesome! The creme fraich cheesecake was a work of art to be visually and delectably enjoyed! We shared. The total experience was phenomenal! Will go again on a return visit to Oakland's Jack London Square. To be on the safe side, if you want to dine in make a reservation.

Helpful?
Thank JWLBowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bocanova also viewed

 

Been to Bocanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing