We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere but...”

The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill
Ranked #24 of 1,261 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 17th St.
Transit: The Lake Merritt Bart station is 6 blocks away. 14th St & Oak St - (0.17 miles) — AC Transit #13 Jackson St & 17th St - (0.21 miles) — AC Transit #59
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere but...”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were a party of five with reservations and we were seated quickly. The Chalet restaurant is a very nice place to eat view, decor and atmosphere wise. The food was wonderful. We all had great seafood dishes; the scallops I had with a light curry was amazing. It was NOT cheap: with the wine our bill was just at $600 but the food and wine were absolutely top notch.
What's not to like? Our waiter was rather distracted (understatement of the decade).. but not by being busy with other customers but by all his chatting with and socializing with the other waiters and employees near the bar.
This place would easily have received an EXCELLENT from us had our waiter been more attentive (well, attentive at all actually).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    71
    33
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
147 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, location and service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

After a poor experience at a San Francisco restaurant the night before it was wonderful to enjoy a first rate vending here. Smiling servers, great menu and location. Food came in good time and was the right quantity, tasty, and hit the spot. Would definitely come again.

Helpful?
Thank MS31Dec2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great View”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Service is always great, the VIEW is wonderful and the food is delicious and the drinks ample. Definitely a place to relax, enjoy and have a good time. Never been there for dinner but bet it could be romantic on a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wado13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Lovely Location on a Sunny Day”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This former boat house has been transformed into a lovely restaurant. The decor both in the restaurant as well as the bar is nicely done. The food is very good, not spectacular, but very good. The wait staff has been well trained. Valet parking is convenient and only $6.50. I ate here at lunch, ordered a Shrimp Louie for $18. The portion size was moderate, and the salad was plated in an interesting way. I would order that salad again. On a sunny day, the views of Lake Merritt are lovely. This is a great place for a business lunch, and I am sure it would also be nice for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wardgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Views, Eats, and Drinks”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently visited The Lake Chalet and absolutely loved it. The location is great; right on the lake surrounded by water. Valet parking is a steal at $6.50 and leaves you right at the top of the stairs. Coming down the stairs feels like floating into the restaurant. We had cocktails on the deck, where we witnessed a gondola with a man in a striped shirt and beret, bring passengers to the deck. Dinner was steak for my partner and chicken for me. The food was delicious. Nothing overly special but cooked just right and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFJess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Lake Chalet Seafood Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing