We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“And I am not a sushi fan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ozumo - Oakland

Ozumo - Oakland
Reserve with OpenTable
Ozumo - Oakland is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 1,220 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: West Grand Avenue
Transit: 4 Blocks from 19th Street Bart Station.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“And I am not a sushi fan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am not a fan of raw fish, and Joey doesn't eat fish at all! But my cousins chose the place for their wedding celebration, and we had a wonderful meal and a great time. The decor was contemporary and beautiful. There were many different areas to choose from - the bar when first you enter, a room with many tables to the right, and behind the bar area a large dance floor area in front of the open, sushi kitchen area. I don't know the names of the various dishes as we had them chosen for us, but the food was good!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eurovicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“After a long search”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

After walking around the blocks of our hotel looking for an Thai restaurant that did not use MSG we asked advice from a group at a small bar "where can we find a place that does not use MSG in Oakland?". We were directed to Ozumo (Sushi/fusion/Japanese) theme Restaurant.
It was wonderful! Fresh, nice atmosphere, good wait staff and inovative dishes. We happen to get there during happy hour, which made the price reasonable. Every dish was good! I find when traveling happy hours can be a good sampling of the restaurants menu without breaking the bank.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lady58_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
176 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Tastes. Small Portions. Average Value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a dinner visit here on work travel. This is a higher-end restaurant with unique food choices. The food presentation was incredible! The atmosphere was great. The flavors were very good. However, as with most high end restaurants, the prices were on the higher end and I left the restaurant still hungry. Eat here for reasons other than to get full. I would return, but not often.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Banshee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“great japanese inspired cuisine with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ozumo is at the epi-center of Oakland's new Uptown restaurant and nightlife district and is also one of the three top restaurants in the area. My Daughter and I dined here and had a really great experience. We first had drinks in the bar/lounge followed by dinner in the dining room. Service throughout was exceptional and we really appreciated the friendliness, information, and recommendations from Jessica in the dining room. Ozumo is a large place with several seating areas and I believe all sections could be considered romantic. The food is Japanese inspired and there is a large selection of Sushi and fish dishes, but also much more on the menu. Our delicious entrees were the Jindori (roasted chicken with Ponzu Butter) and the Gindara (Black Cod). The Spider Roll (soft shell crab) was excellent. There is a really extensive Sake collection and the various Sake flights are interesting and informative. If one wishes to learn about Sake, this is a good place to do it. Ozumo also has a very good wine list. There is a vibrant bar scene, and the restaurant usually gets crowded on the weekend, especially First Friday when the Art Murmer takes place. That is a very festive time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You pay for the atmosphere, not the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Their entrees are nothing close to generously portioned. Ranging from $20-$60 an entree and all you get is something that looks good. Presentation is key, but arent portions as well? I will definitely not be coming back here again. Service was ok, but only one shrimp came with my soup. One lousy shrimp! Id rather go to my usual hole in the wall sushi place.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CurtisSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ozumo - Oakland also viewed

 

Been to Ozumo - Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing