We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice public garden with lots of different areas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Park and Garden Center

Lakeside Park and Garden Center
Ranked #24 of 115 things to do in Oakland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the best public gardens in the state offers Japanese, Polynesian, and many other types of gardens.
oakland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice public garden with lots of different areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is easy to walk by this place and not know it is there. I would second everything Diane 640 wrote. My daughter gardens a lot and she loves this place. It is not huge like Descanso gardens in BC, but it is very well laid out and full of outdoor rooms created by the plantings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bigsteve666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Secret Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

These gardens are tucked away in the park at Lake Merritt. I had walked by 100 times before I every ventured in. Once I did I was delighted to find interesting plants and landscapes at each turn. I would highly recommend stopping by if you are in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet and Accessible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just a few steps off busy Grand Ave. past the elaborate and now-defunct fountain, Lakeside Park and Garden Center offers lunchtime solitude or a late afternoon lesiurely beauty stroll. Filled with specimen trees and lovely, varied garden collections, for plant and flower lovers, it's a must. If you are a collector, the Garden Center features iris, orchid and other sales throughout the year. For bonsai lovers, there's that too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The gardens are amazing - you wouldn't know they were there. As you wander around every corner you come on some new surprise - the banzai building, the palm tree grove, etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank michelle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good for walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

garden center is very, very nice. didn´t see Fairyland though.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Iv O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Park and Garden Center also viewed

 

Been to Lakeside Park and Garden Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing