We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I used to live in this great neighborhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Merritt

Lake Merritt
Ranked #3 of 114 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saltwater lake in the middle of the city.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I used to live in this great neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I used to job around this lake for years. I've also taken sailing lessons here. It's got a Mediterranean feel that can't be beat in the San Francisco area.

Helpful?
Thank randijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    210
    48
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, healthy and inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The re-landscaped Lake Merritt offers a chance to stretch your legs on a flat and beautiful 3.2 miles surface while observing the wonderful water birds that congregate in this age old sanctuary.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A walk with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter, her fiance, my partner and I took a walk around the lake, enjoying the fabulous Oakland weather, and the joy of being together.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenQueenColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely lake and bird sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sparkling waters in the middle of town with marvelous view of Oakland hills. Watch the pelicans fish for dinner ,quite dramatic. Visit the lovely gardens surrounding the lake . Or rent a small boat and go for a sail. Lovely place to spend an afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gondola ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We received a gift of a sunset, moon lit gondola ride for Christmas from our kids. What the heck, we waited for good bay area weather and headed out. Real Italian gondolas, gondoliers. We had champagne, a beautiful view of Art Deco architecture and knowledgeable tour by our singing gondolier. Was tons of fun and great restaurants near by. An urban treat

Helpful?
Thank luv2gooften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing