We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful, healthy and inspirational” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Merritt

Lake Merritt
Ranked #3 of 115 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saltwater lake in the middle of the city.
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, healthy and inspirational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The re-landscaped Lake Merritt offers a chance to stretch your legs on a flat and beautiful 3.2 miles surface while observing the wonderful water birds that congregate in this age old sanctuary.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    215
    53
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A walk with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter, her fiance, my partner and I took a walk around the lake, enjoying the fabulous Oakland weather, and the joy of being together.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenQueenColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely lake and bird sanctuary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sparkling waters in the middle of town with marvelous view of Oakland hills. Watch the pelicans fish for dinner ,quite dramatic. Visit the lovely gardens surrounding the lake . Or rent a small boat and go for a sail. Lovely place to spend an afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gondola ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We received a gift of a sunset, moon lit gondola ride for Christmas from our kids. What the heck, we waited for good bay area weather and headed out. Real Italian gondolas, gondoliers. We had champagne, a beautiful view of Art Deco architecture and knowledgeable tour by our singing gondolier. Was tons of fun and great restaurants near by. An urban treat

Helpful?
Thank luv2gooften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Favorite place to run in Oakland.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've run around this lake hundreds of times. Trail is just over 3 miles but can get busy on a weekend. Lots of regulars around the lake. Can get shady late night and early morning but never had an issue. I always thought Oakland should do more to make this a focus of the city....they need to figure out how to develop the area but keep the park atmosphere. Many areas of the park see little use. Strongly reccomend for those visiting to take a nice jog around the park. Just keep in mind, it's not Central Park caliber.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank COSEQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Merritt also viewed

 

Been to Lake Merritt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing