We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Stunningly gorgeous theater with wonderful films and shows!

The first time I visited the Paramount, I saw Prince just a few months before he passed and it was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
annalulu23
,
Oakland, California
Speaker

Lovely facility with great parking next door. Women’s room always has a line but men’s is fine... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Terrys1015
via mobile
Read all 216 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Oakland
from $69.00
More Info
from $108.00
More Info
from $100.00
More Info
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
167
33
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
33
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco classic movie historic theater great acoustics each month sight lines performance venue nutcracker tours palace comedy stage era organist seats series
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The first time I visited the Paramount, I saw Prince just a few months before he passed and it was an absolutely magical night. Although the marquee and facade of this incredible theater are stunning on their own, once you get inside, you really see what a jewel this is and how lucky we are that it has survived.

Art Deco details throughout give you something new to see at every turn. Just going to a showing of a simple movie makes you feel like a grande Hollywood dame.

The theater books a wide variety of events for all kinds of crowds, if you see something that looks good, GO!

Finally, they offer tours so visit their website to book!

Thank annalulu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely facility with great parking next door. Women’s room always has a line but men’s is fine Security is in place for large events and numerous dining options with a reservation

Thank Terrys1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place for a concert, with great acoustics, no matter where you sit, and go sight lines as well. I really appreciated the comfortable seating, with enough space between the rows for your legs, and people to pass you bye. Restrooms were currently being remodeled but were still clean and attractive. Drinks and snacks are available. Terrific location for BART with 19th street station literally across the street. Lots of restaurants in the nearby walking area.

Thank BarryandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

One of the most beautiful concert venues in the Bay Area, if not California. Historic theater will good seating and sight lines. Acoustics are excellent.

Thank Calboy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The Paramount Theatre is worth viewing ,,even if there are no performances. Guided tours are given on weekends. The theatre can be enjoyed during a concert , but the information learned on a tour is also worth while, especially for people visiting the Bay Area.

Thank bonnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

I was so sorry to find almost two floors of the public garage reserved now for a more elite class of parking, which makes it difficult to take the ferry easily to the city, particularly if you don’t live near a bus to the ferry. As well as making the ferry accessible, ample free parking at Jack London definitely offset the almost $20 round trip fare to San Francisco. It’s pretty sad, when combined with all the empty store fronts in Oakland. Maybe the new ballpark there will add a little life, but I’m guessing that ticket prices for the new park will follow this model, and be exorbitantly expensive. Goodbye, old Oakland.

Thank sullidesk16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

My first time there catching a show. Was pretty impressed by how well preserved it was. Many photos on the walls showing several previous performances from great shows from years gone by. The seats were a bit tight in the upper levels. Restrooms were a level down from our row. Still easy to enter and exit. Not just your rows but the whole theater after a show. We took BART into downtown Oakland which has a station 1 block south. So I can't comment on any parking nearby.

Thank lodiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Where else but the Paramount Theatre can you see a classic movie with a newsreel and a cartoon, and also have a chance to win a lovely local merchant prize in the vintage Dec-O-Win game? Monthly $5 shows feature all these plus a concert on the mighty Wurlitzer theater organ, all in one of the most beautiful restored movie palaces in the land. (It's an amazing place to see concerts, too!)

The lovely Miss Guided spins the Dec-O-Win wheel, but at the most recent show (Animal House) she ran the show, a special treat for her many fans.

The Paramount also opens for tours of this Timothy Pflueger Art Deco masterpiece. Conveniently located within a block of the 19th Street BART Station.

Thank beth3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Beautiful theater, rich with history and glamour. You feel like you took a step back in history. You must take in a play or concert here once in your life.

Thank kmaddox32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

I went by myself to see something that was a throw back replay. The theater is small and houses 2 or 3 screens. The staff was warm and friendly and helpful and the concession stand has a nice mix of refreshments. I didn't mind being alone which is something that can easily happen to me. I felt safe parking 2 blocks away and walking back and forth both before and after the movie.

Thank evelynsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews