We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A blast from the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paramount Theatre

Paramount Theatre
Ranked #1 of 6 Fun & Games in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A throwback to the 1930s with its art deco architecture.
Fresno
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went on a group tour of this fabulous theater! The architecture was incredible! I'd definitely recommend going on a tour. It is well worth the history. We loved the organ playing - show. We like it so much we decided to attend a movie and see the organ show again. A great part of California history.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TGlobalFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    31
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Paramount, Oakland's Jewel in the Crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Paramount Theater was a place I attended many a film as a child. Now it stands refurbished, a tribute to the deco period in which it was born and a magnificent venue for a variety of acts. Currently the favorite for touring acts like kd lang, and Melissa Etheridge as well as showings of classics like The Wizard of Oz, the Paramount is a classic theater that can be matched up against any in the country. Even Hollywood recognized it's statute when it was selected for the premiere of "Money Ball" the Academy Award nominated film about Billy Beane's transformation of baseball in the 80s and 90s. Brava!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mzscahlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The theater is a wonder of art deco design and splendor. Check out the website for the tours on alternating Saturday mornings. It is the best $5 you can spend

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“KBLX concert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The singers did not have a live band. It was a disappointment.
We paid for a performance live band, back-up singers. This is what I go to a concert to hear. If I wanted to hear a sound track I would have palyed my CD's at home or in the car in surround sound.
Artists & KBLX you get a thumbs down and a get it right ticket. I will not be attending an event in the futire if this happens again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaye3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Paramount, in general, has great musical groups. They offer 2/3 sections to purchase drinks, so that everyone isn't all bunched up waiting. Parking can be a bear, so arrive early.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paramount Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Paramount Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing