We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack London Square is nice to visit, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jack London Cinema

Jack London Cinema
Ranked #5 of 6 Fun & Games in Oakland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nine state of the art movie theaters.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jack London Square is nice to visit, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

even though it is one of the safer areas, the entire city of Oakland is more dangerous than ever. They laid off many cops, and it frequently takes over 2 minutes just to answer the phone when calling 911. Pretty easy for bad guys to operate without fear.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dan4911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“$5 Sunday & Tuesday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We love the bargain deals they have on Sunday's & Tuesday's for $5.....their popcorn is pretty yummy too we eat it with Jalapenos! Try it I promise you'll enjoy it too. It's like popcorn nachos you

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ellie_A1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“does the job”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I have been there twice and the experience was nice but as average as any other theater.

Helpful?
Thank GNIFremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Please keep quiet!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I have been to this theater many times (ever since it opened). For some reason, many patrons of this theater seem to think they are at home watching their televisions. This entitles them to make loud comments and even carry on conversations during the movie. I'm not talking just about overexcited kids (you expect that). Most of the offenders are adults who have no consideration of other viewers. Management chooses to ignore this behavior and I frequently miss the movie dialog. I will not be returning to this theater.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Razur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“excellente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2004

it's a great theatre, might be a lil ghetto. Excellente atmosphere, it is always packed with people at night time. I also like the food they serve there. Smoothie. Yummie. Great place to go to have some entertaining excitment!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack London Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Jack London Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing