We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, neat place. Convenient location. Friendly staff. Great value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Bridge Inn

Bay Bridge Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Bridge Inn to your Saves list
Bay Bridge Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   683 W. MacArthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, neat place. Convenient location. Friendly staff. Great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is been my hotel of choice in the Oakland area for the past 3 years. The hotel is close to multiple modes of public transportation (BART and several bus routes). The hotel staff is professional and friendly, keeping the hotel clean and safe. Rooms are comfortable, have cable TV, and both wired and wireless high-speed Internet. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bksaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    18
    3
    11
See reviews for
5
15
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We chose to stay in Oakland as part of our second leg touring around various places on the west coast (USA). We found that as we had a car and because the San Francisco acommodation seemed very overpriced, that Oakland was a happy compromise.

THE MOTEL AND LOCATION:
Basic but OK and has free Wifi. The service was fine and fairly efficient. The motel is off a main road and not too far from downtown Oakland, which has a large Chinese community-and great Chinese food as a result! It felt reasonably safe and the area was fairly quiet. In order to get into San Francisco, you have to cross the Oakland bridge. As long as you don't go in mid rush hour, this only takes 20 minutes or so from the motel.

THE ROOM:
Very large but sparsely furnished. We were also on the top floor and had to access the room via some fire escape type stairs. This wasn't really an issue for us as we only stayed for a couple of days.
We found the room to be very clean, if not a little dated. However, having just travelled up from LA, the room was cold and poorly heated. It felt and smelled a little damp.

Overall, manageable for a cheap base in order to see San Francisco.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NWtraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed here over memorial day weekend because we decided to go at the last minute and there wasn't anything available in San Francisco in our price range. We chose this place because as well as fitting into our budget, we knew it was close to the BART station from other Trip Advisor reviews.

When we first drove into the neighborhood I must admit that I felt slightly uneasy, but then when I really looked around, I took note that the majority of the houses were taken care of and the people who were walking around were walking with purpose to a destination. There weren't really people standing around on street corners or anything. The motel parking lot was clean and although the hotel was obviously old, it appeared to be decently kept and it didn't appear that people were living there full time.

We got a king room. The room was very old and the furniture was old and chipped, but it wasn't filthy. The room didn't stink and the carpet was newer. The bathroom was sufficiently clean, although it was very old and the sink was tiny. It served its purpose for us just fine.

The sheets were clean, although they didn't have a fitted bottom sheet on the bed so the bottom sheet came loose during the night and we woke up sleeping on an exposed matress. The second day nobody came in and made the bed, which wasn't too big a deal, although even most chain budget motels will do that much for you.


It was just a short five minute walk to the BART station which takes you directly into the heart of San Francisco. There aren't any restaurants or stores within walking distance of the motel itself (although there is a grocery store within driving distance), but we spent our days in San Francisco so it didn't matter. We easiliy saved a ton of money and hassle by staying there and taking BART because driving in San Francisco is a stressful experience for small-towners like us, not to mention that most places in the city charge an arm and a leg for parking. BART fare to the city from there is a little over 3 bucks per way per person, so transportation was about 12 bucks a day for the two of us. We would have paid more than that for parking....

Basically, you get what you pay for. For the price and the location right by BART, this place is acceptable. My husband and I don't like to spend too much on hotels when we travel because we'd rather spend that money on eating and sightseeing.

If your on a tight budget and just want a clean place to sleep and shower, this place is sufficient. It's perfect for young adults or young married couples who are comfortable using public transportation to get around.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BonnieandPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Was difficult to find. Room was small and bare. Hole in ceiling of bathroom to nothing but maybe entrance for the rats. Would never repeat this experience. We asked for a wake up call that didn't happen and we nearly missed our flight. Do NOT recommend this place for anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank skeezik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We chose this hotel because it had great value, we had great savings at this place as opposed to staying at a hotel in actual San Fran. The rooms were clean and had comfort. The staff gave us plenty info on sight seeing in the bay. Would recommend to other travelers looking to save while visiting SF.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pupi1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Was here for a short trip to San Francisco.The description of the Motel doesn`t compare with the description in the advertizing,the rooms are dirty,the remote for tv was out of order and the shower/bathroom was also in a bad condition.Just a relatively cheap stay-no less,no more.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportsterking666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

This place has been done over by a family working together. It's in a very funky part of Oakland--no walking-around after dark--in amongst several very dubious run-down motels.
But I've stayed here twice, and it's perfectly okay. If you're a traveler as opposed to just a tourist and you've been some other places around the world, this place is just fine. Clean, comfortable, friendly, and close to BART, which means close to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
0.3 mi away
Imperial Inn
Imperial Inn
#20 of 48 in Oakland
3.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Emeryville
5.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#13 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#11 of 48 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Bridge Inn

Property: Bay Bridge Inn
Address: 683 W. MacArthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94609
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Bridge Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Bridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Bridge Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing