We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food, neighborhood gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montclair Bistro - CLOSED

Montclair Bistro
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Moraga
Transit: yes-bus
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I reserved a table at the Montclair Bistro for a dinner with high-school friends I had not seen in a long time. It turned out to be the perfect spot for a quiet get-together: the food was outstanding, and the unobtrusive and friendly staff allowed us to chat and get caught up with each other in a very pleasant dining room.

Food: We shared several small plates instead of ordering main courses. Every dish was delicious: duck quesadillas, lobster cake, roasted brussel sprout salad, and a very generous Mediterranean plate. We thought we'd need to order more, but these are rich, filling dishes, and we were very satisfied. The flavors were intense, and every combination was spot on. For dessert we shared the bread pudding and the tiramisu--yum!

Our waiter was really pleasant--just the right amount of interaction. They were out of the bottle we requested, and he found us a perfect substitute from the same region.

The dining room is lovely. I only wish the outdoor patio were as nice. It's OK, but a bit cramped and too close to Hwy. 13. It's probably better to sit at the bar for that pre-dinner cocktail.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
“Real Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Went with friends for Sunday brunch and each of the four of us had something different. Everyone was very happy with their choice and we all agreed that we would be going back for lunch or dinner. This is a gem.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heatthrowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scrumptious elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Three of us settled in for a special night out. I had the chive crusted stripe bass and my friends had the blackened salmon and the salad Kathleen. All were presented beautifully and enjoyed tremendously. Our starter was a threesome of seafood treats and my friends had the Caesar salads. The pinot noir we had from Willamette Valley was velvety and worked well with the tastes of the meal.

Service was friendly and good humored and the pace of the meal was perfect.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank windtraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food tasty, but ambience a little dark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Visited restaurant for a last dinner with family -- glad to find something open on New Year's Day. Menu varied although a little light on vegetarian selections. Everyone in the party was happy with their choices -- especially my husband with the blackened salmon and my son with the roast beef special. Service was very attentive; even the chef stopped by for a visit. Restaurant lighting was very dim. I do like to be able to see my meal.

Especially liked that one could chose variable sizes for menu selections. Great idea.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barkelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“quaint restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

this is a restaraunt with great food and service but
the atmosphere is good for a business meeting or if you want to talk with friends....

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank sansa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing