We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montclair Bistro - CLOSED

Montclair Bistro
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Moraga
Transit: yes-bus
London
2 reviews
“Real Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Went with friends for Sunday brunch and each of the four of us had something different. Everyone was very happy with their choice and we all agreed that we would be going back for lunch or dinner. This is a gem.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heatthrowtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scrumptious elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Three of us settled in for a special night out. I had the chive crusted stripe bass and my friends had the blackened salmon and the salad Kathleen. All were presented beautifully and enjoyed tremendously. Our starter was a threesome of seafood treats and my friends had the Caesar salads. The pinot noir we had from Willamette Valley was velvety and worked well with the tastes of the meal.

Service was friendly and good humored and the pace of the meal was perfect.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank windtraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food tasty, but ambience a little dark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Visited restaurant for a last dinner with family -- glad to find something open on New Year's Day. Menu varied although a little light on vegetarian selections. Everyone in the party was happy with their choices -- especially my husband with the blackened salmon and my son with the roast beef special. Service was very attentive; even the chef stopped by for a visit. Restaurant lighting was very dim. I do like to be able to see my meal.

Especially liked that one could chose variable sizes for menu selections. Great idea.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barkelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
306 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“quaint restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

this is a restaraunt with great food and service but
the atmosphere is good for a business meeting or if you want to talk with friends....

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank sansa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slow, confusing service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Party of 11 for family birthday party. It took about an hour before our entree was served. Half of us ordered the prime rib special, requesting from rare to medium. My son's medium looked about the same as my sister's rare. I was the last to be served and they asked me what I ordered. I said prime rib medium rare. I was served a well done piece that looked like scraps. After complaining, I was served a piece that looked more like medium,

This was my second time eating here, though I have never chosen this restaurant. Both times were not good.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing