We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Arrived at Oakland airport about 10 pm on a Friday night. Called the hotel to send a shuttle to pick me up at airport. Took about 20 minutes (only complaint) but maybe driver had to wait for the other travelers so he didn't have to make two or three separate trips back to the airport. Check-in was fast under 5 minutes. Got a good deal on the Holiday Inn website for a comfortable and clean room so the value was there. Had a turkey sandwich and fish and chips in the sports bar next to the lobby. Okay price for an average meal late at night. Next morning the hotel shuttle took me to the BART station for my journey into San Francisco. It does what I expect a good airport hotel to do, provide a comfortable overnight stay. I would stay here again as my first option the next time I am flying into Oakland International. Airport.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talkinghawaiian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 287 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

Outstanding Holiday Inn with mediocre, unfriendly front desk staff. Aside from that one minor disappointment the hotel is beautiful, comfortable beds, attractive furnishings, LCD televisions.

The area around the hotel is mediocre but proxity to the airport is good. There is a newish Walmart down the street along with a few fast food restaurants.

Will stay again in the future. It's the best of the OAK area hotels.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

It is a basic Holiday Inn. The walls are a bit thin -- but not a problem really. The location is excellent right at the airport. Rates are usual for this type of mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomScottsdaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed at the Holiday Inn & Suites Oakland Airport for departing out of the Oakland airport. It was very close to the airport, about as close as you could get. The rooms were very nice. We had really nice rooms and thought they were really big with nice bed linens and pillows. Much nicer than the average. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. My first room was right near the ice machine and even though they were very full they found me a room in a quieter location. Free use of the business center printers was appreciated as well. It appears to be a meeting spot for out of town Raider fans as well. Many were staying in the hotel as the stadium was close by.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelisfun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

This is a newer property with outstanding housekeeping. The bathrooms have travertine floors and granite counters. The desk provides ample workspace and outlets are plentiful. Like most airport hotels, dining options within walking distance are extremely limited. Thankfully, the hotel restaurant offers decent food at reasonable prices. The restaurant had much better service on Saturday than on Friday. It appeared as if they schedule the A-team on weekends and have “fillers” during the week.

The hotel has a fleet of shuttles to ferry guests to and from the airport and the BART station about a mile away. BART grants easy access to the great restaurants of San Francisco for dinner without changing trains.

Service here is good, not great. I say “good” because no one that works here will greet you without you speaking to them first; unusual in the service sector but just plain bizarre in the hospitality industry. For whatever reason, it was the norm during our visit. The experience was the same for the most part from housekeepers, front desk staff, and a few of the restaurant servers. Fortunately, the staff was extremely capable and dutifully attended to our requests. Maybe silent competence trumps verbose ineptitude.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

In town for a Raiders game and I was extremely satisfied! Shuttles were provided to every location I needed; from the airport, to and from the Oakland-Alameda Coliseum and back to the airport. The room was comfy and clean and I enjoyed a tasty and affordable meal at the hotel's sport's bar and grill. A great experience for a quick trip to sporting events in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandRaiderFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

This place is new and the rooms are nice but that's expected from a recently built hotel. The big problems were with the service and professional attitude of the staff. The staff didn't know the concept of hospitality, I spend about 150 nights a year on the road for business and stay in various hotels along the way. I know good service when I see it and this place was definitely below average. The hotel has a noisy sports bar in the lobby (especially if any games are on) so it passed for me traveling alone but would not want to bring my kids or family along with me. Lastly the walls are VERY thin, I could here everything going on in the room next door not sure if they can fix this problem. The area is also a bit rough, and the crowd in the hotel can be rough as well if the sports bar is packed. Overall, nice rooms but bad service, rough location, and noisy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelExpert0852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 49 in Oakland
1,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
291 reviews
4.6 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport

Address: 77 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Oakland
#7 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: $145 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Holiday Inn & Suites Oakland Airport is the Holiday Inn of the future! This newest Oakland Airport Hotel near San Francisco is just one mile from Oakland International Airport (OAK), and offers free shuttle to destinations within five miles of the hotel.In Oakland, you'll find a variety of attractions within close proximity of our hotel. We are one mile from the McAfee Coliseum-Home of the Oakland Raiders & Oakland Athletics, and Oracle Arena - Home of the Golden State Warriors, and just minutes away from Jack London Square and the Metropolitan Golf Course. Our hotel's location near San Francisco makes it easy to visit the 'City by the Bay.' Business travelers enjoy our close proximity to National Automotive, Unisys Corporation, Waste Management, FedEx, UPS, Rainin Instruments and other businesses in Oakland. Lodging in our hotel makes it easy to utilize the 24-hour business center as well as over 3,000 square feet of meeting space. With a heated, outdoor pool and a fitness center as well as an on-site convenience store and Diamonds Sports Bar & Grill, our guests receive excellent services from our new hotel in Oakland. All rooms feature triple-sheeted king beds, 32-inch flat panel TVs, microwaves, refrigerators and work spaces with two phones and free high-speed Internet access. For top-quality service in an ideal location, this is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Oakland Airport
Holiday Inn Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing