We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and oh so friendly, a great retreat!”
Review of Sierra Sky Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Sky Ranch
Ranked #4 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We chose this place because it was near Yosemite, midway between my home and my friend's home, and it allows dogs. We got the great winter rate by starting our stay on a Thursday night. The place is old and being lovingly restored, keeping the rustic but classy theme. Rooms are small and cozy, but they have a few suites for a those needing more room. It has a very interesting history and is a beautiful area. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The restaurant, open weekends, is upscale and reasonable- great food! We were able to relax, go down to the scenic creek next door, and enjoy the quiet.

Note: If you are a believer, this place is reputed to be haunted. We had our own experiences to validate it; nothing scary if you know not be to afraid. Just interesting. It is a short drive to an entrance to Yosemite, but an hour drive to the actual scenic valley. There are USFS hiking trails and giant sequoias nearby if you don't want to go far. We plan on going back this spring.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 267 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of the tour to Yosemite National Park. We didn't expect much for this hotel because it said Ranch but where do I start --- we were a big group tour so all rooms in the ranch has been taken by our group ---- no other guest stay in this period anyway we were given double room # 15 which was very small for European standard veri limited space to put our suitcases --- very dark inside the room for bathroom is OK size clean but again little space to put our bathroom amenities we have to put on the floor which was not great anyway after 1 hour in the room we felt the our air-condition was not working because it was so hot then I went to the reception and let them know --- she came to our room and press on the temperature control and said it should be working when we come back from dinner --- our first night we had dinner in the hotel restaurant looks very country style but that was not our problem food was not so great I had Pork Chop it's look ok except they put some berries sauce on the top and I didn't like the sauce at all my wife had chicken steak with mashed potato again they put gravy sauce on top but not usual British Gravy sauce it taste likes creamy mushroom soup so both af us left almost everything on the plates, we ordered soup for starters it was so salty overall not enjoyed at all ---- After horrible dinner we look forward to have a good sleep in our room ---- air-con still not working and so hot I have to contact reception again same lady she came to our room and press the same control and she said it was not working and we have 2 options whether we will stay in our room but open the door and windows to let cool air come in or wait for the staff who mabe can check what's wrong with our air-con but she said not guarantee that he can fix it she said he won't be here until 23:00 (at time was 22:00) anyway I said to her NO WAY we will sleep with the door open and I said does she have another room to move the answer is NO so only 1 option left is wait for the guy to come at 23:00 ---- after we travelled 11 hours from Las Vegas we just want to rest ---- we told our tour manager about the problem 20 minutes later surprise surprise 1 vacant room become available and we decided to move but it was 2 doubled beds and much smaller than our first room at that stage you just want to sleep --- we already unpacked in the first room so we have to repacked and move to the new room by ourselves at 22:45 so that was the story on the first night ---- on our second evening they offered BBQ dinner with entertainment sound good so almost everyone in our group booked this BBQ for the second night OH DEAR !! food on the buffet very warm grilled chicken and under cooked beef, mashed potato was only side dish but it was not going well with grilled Chicken & beef -- no other fresh vegetable anyway make the story short POOR POOR POOR Value and quality --- entertainment was so poor not what we expected. This Ranch only provided dinner in the restaurant but as we were a big group they provided complimentary continental breakfast which we were very much appreciated until we see their breakfast and we were shocked with quality of food we knew that was complimentary but we prefer to pay and being serve better quality of food --- orange juice was like dishwater everyone in our group said the same thing they only provided melon for fresh fruit and hard boiled egg which was not everyone taste. Overall horrible stay --- well below standard required and WON'T BE BACK.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BLUEWONDER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

nice place for an evening of unwinding... large porch with lawn that extends to road with trees and pool... ghost stories were fun!!! John Wayne stayed here when he wanted to get away from city life!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christabKatyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We attended a family reunion at Sierra Sky Ranch. Guests were from all over the United States. It was a wonderful place to gather. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. Due to the size of our group, (about 30 people) the restaurant did open for breakfast a couple of mornings. The area was lovely. We enjoyed the proximity to Yosemite and were treated to a "special tour" of the historic ranch.The restaurant was wonderful - not your normal meat and potatoes offering. The staff of the restaurant and ranch were most hospitable, offering suggestions of places to go and things to do. It was a delightful, rustic, casual place to be on the 4th of July with extended family. Don't go expecting a 5 star experience. Go realizing that you are at a historic, rustic ranch and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyHeartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great experience. The rooms are recently remodeled and have a 'rustic' feel to them (ours was decorated in a bear theme). The beds are awesome-felt like sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom in our room was completely new and it was very large. The towels provided are not the typical hotel postage stamp size, but thick ones that match the decor of the room. Completely new tile and fixtures in the bathroom and Very tastefully decorated. The rooms are a bit small, but that goes along with the historical nature of the ranch. I wouldn't have wanted a larger room at risk of losing its history. The room had digitally controlled thermostat that worked great-we set our A/C at 65 at night. There was a fridge provided, but no microwave. We brought milk and cereal, so no problem. The entire main building was very well kept and clean. The kids swam in the pool both nights, and it was clean. There was an ice machine that was brand new, but hasn't been installed yet, but to compensate, the person at the desk went to the restaurant located on premesis and provided ice as needed. I enjoyed walking down the hallway and checking out the common rooms. They are very log-cabinish feeling. Overall experience was great and I'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHmilitaryfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

In early February 2009 we made a reservation at the Sky Ranch Resort over both the web site and calling the reservations staff. Shortly thereafter (less than one week), we canceled the reservation over the phone due to a change in our travel plans. Staff confirmed orally that the reservation for late June 2009 was canceled. (Note: the Resort does not provide any written confirmations by e-mail or post mail on reservations.) In late June a pending charge appeared on our Visa credit card for the stay. I immediately notified the Resort of the billing mistake by e-mail, and requested the charge be removed. The Resort did not respond to my e-mail, so I called them to confirm that the error was corrected. After speaking to the Resort owner, the reservation staff indicated that the charge would not be removed, unless I could provide proof of the cancellation. I had not retained any written evidence of the reservation or the cancellation, thinking that the reservation was canceled. I am currently working with Visa to correct the disputed charge. In the meantime, wanted others to know of the potential risks of not fully documenting reservation cancellations with the Sky Ranch Resort.

3  Thank jfricketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

If you are looking for a very unique place to stay in the Yosemite Area, this is your place. However, manage your expectations. If you intend to stay at a five-star type hotel, then this is not your hotel. However, if you want the charm of the old West in a very quite, picturesque, and peaceful area, I'd highly recommend the SSR. Everything is quite old, as they are trying to maintain the old-ness of the area. The hotel is located about 1/2 mile from anything, including a place to eat breakfast. They do have an excellent restaurant on the location which has fantastic steaks and deserts. The bar is well stocked for the common folk. Although the restaurant does not serve breakfast, there is a good breakfast place just 1/2 mile down the road. There is coffee service available in the lobby. The beds are among the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The rooms are very small. There is a porch outside of each room. Perfect for looking over the grounds and the deer that tend to roam in the area. Remember, this is in the middle of a very wooded area. So, it has a "going camping" type of feel, yet with a warm shower and a comfortable bed. I found the staff to be very friendly. In all it was a great stay if you are in the Yosemite Area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
2.9 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23.4 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5.4 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
622 reviews
22.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sky Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sky Ranch

Address: 50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range: $88 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sierra Sky Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Sky Ranch is just 10 miles from Yosemite's southern entrance. Established in 1875, it was the first working cattle ranch in the area; in 1946 it was converted to a guest facility. Visitors come from all over the world for its simple, laid back atmosphere. Rustic yet comfortable, this 100-year-old converted mountain ranch house is the perfect family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and getaroom.com so you can book your Sierra Sky Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sky Ranch Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing