We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family reunion”
Review of Sierra Sky Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sierra Sky Ranch
Ranked #6 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Salina, KS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great family reunion”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We attended a family reunion at Sierra Sky Ranch. Guests were from all over the United States. It was a wonderful place to gather. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. Due to the size of our group, (about 30 people) the restaurant did open for breakfast a couple of mornings. The area was lovely. We enjoyed the proximity to Yosemite and were treated to a "special tour" of the historic ranch.The restaurant was wonderful - not your normal meat and potatoes offering. The staff of the restaurant and ranch were most hospitable, offering suggestions of places to go and things to do. It was a delightful, rustic, casual place to be on the 4th of July with extended family. Don't go expecting a 5 star experience. Go realizing that you are at a historic, rustic ranch and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyHeartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    63
    25
    24
    32
See reviews for
50
97
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great experience. The rooms are recently remodeled and have a 'rustic' feel to them (ours was decorated in a bear theme). The beds are awesome-felt like sleeping on a cloud. The bathroom in our room was completely new and it was very large. The towels provided are not the typical hotel postage stamp size, but thick ones that match the decor of the room. Completely new tile and fixtures in the bathroom and Very tastefully decorated. The rooms are a bit small, but that goes along with the historical nature of the ranch. I wouldn't have wanted a larger room at risk of losing its history. The room had digitally controlled thermostat that worked great-we set our A/C at 65 at night. There was a fridge provided, but no microwave. We brought milk and cereal, so no problem. The entire main building was very well kept and clean. The kids swam in the pool both nights, and it was clean. There was an ice machine that was brand new, but hasn't been installed yet, but to compensate, the person at the desk went to the restaurant located on premesis and provided ice as needed. I enjoyed walking down the hallway and checking out the common rooms. They are very log-cabinish feeling. Overall experience was great and I'd definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHmilitaryfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

In early February 2009 we made a reservation at the Sky Ranch Resort over both the web site and calling the reservations staff. Shortly thereafter (less than one week), we canceled the reservation over the phone due to a change in our travel plans. Staff confirmed orally that the reservation for late June 2009 was canceled. (Note: the Resort does not provide any written confirmations by e-mail or post mail on reservations.) In late June a pending charge appeared on our Visa credit card for the stay. I immediately notified the Resort of the billing mistake by e-mail, and requested the charge be removed. The Resort did not respond to my e-mail, so I called them to confirm that the error was corrected. After speaking to the Resort owner, the reservation staff indicated that the charge would not be removed, unless I could provide proof of the cancellation. I had not retained any written evidence of the reservation or the cancellation, thinking that the reservation was canceled. I am currently working with Visa to correct the disputed charge. In the meantime, wanted others to know of the potential risks of not fully documenting reservation cancellations with the Sky Ranch Resort.

Helpful?
3 Thank jfricketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakhurst hotels

Southern California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2009

If you are looking for a very unique place to stay in the Yosemite Area, this is your place. However, manage your expectations. If you intend to stay at a five-star type hotel, then this is not your hotel. However, if you want the charm of the old West in a very quite, picturesque, and peaceful area, I'd highly recommend the SSR. Everything is quite old, as they are trying to maintain the old-ness of the area. The hotel is located about 1/2 mile from anything, including a place to eat breakfast. They do have an excellent restaurant on the location which has fantastic steaks and deserts. The bar is well stocked for the common folk. Although the restaurant does not serve breakfast, there is a good breakfast place just 1/2 mile down the road. There is coffee service available in the lobby. The beds are among the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The rooms are very small. There is a porch outside of each room. Perfect for looking over the grounds and the deer that tend to roam in the area. Remember, this is in the middle of a very wooded area. So, it has a "going camping" type of feel, yet with a warm shower and a comfortable bed. I found the staff to be very friendly. In all it was a great stay if you are in the Yosemite Area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed a weekend at the Sky Ranch recently for a conference, so the place was booked full. The first morning we were there, NONE of the rooms had RUNNING WATER! Couldn't brush our teeth, go to the bathroom, or take showers. First we were told the pipes had frozen, then we were told they had just run out of water. This was the case for most of the weekend. There were moments where the water came back, but only briefly. Not only would they not comp or credit our rooms, they didn't even see fit to comp us one (overpriced, mediocre) meal for the inconvenience. The guests were asked to conserve water and try not to shower or go to the bathroom unnecessarily. The staff was not at all friendly or apologetic about it. This made for a very unpleasant stay and I cannot recommend this place to anyone unless you're in the mood to pay a lot of money to "rough it." Too bad, because the setting is really beautiful. Just stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — no running water in rooms, food overpriced
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcat420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2008

July 21, 2008. I was really looking forward to staying at the Sky Ranch however I was very disappointed that the customer service was horrible. This place really needs some work. Our group had 6 rooms and it was unfortunate that some of the rooms had NO air conditioning. We had a ceiling fan however it was 82 in our room. We went to the office and asked if we could change to a room with A/C and the clerk said there were no rooms available. I was almost afraid to ask anything because the clerk seemed to bother that we had concerns. I asked if we could have another fan and she said she would see. (Never got another fan) I then asked if we could at least get a discount because I would have not booked the room knowing there was no A/C. She flat out said no discount a/c owner will only offer a full refund if we don’t stay. They would see if they could find us another place to stay. I replied that I was already aware that everything in the area was booked. I couldn’t believe that there was NO apology anytime during this conversation. We never got a fan and we were stuck there for 2 nights. The ceiling fan fixture was coming apart and there was no ceiling light. They did have a desk light however rooms were dark. We were lucky that we had a closet to put our clothes in. The other rooms had no closets but, they had a nail to hang a couple of hangers on. The bathroom was clean however not much room to put your personal belongings. Since we stayed 2 nights the maids didn’t know how to make up the beds. They just threw the blankets back on the bed. The front of the main building is nice but the back view really needs a lot of work. Would have been nice to see green grass out our window instead of dry weeds and dirt. This could probably become a nice place however they need to learn that customer service should be first and at least offer an apology and a discount. I will definitely not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Close to Yosemite Entrance
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LovingYosemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2008

when we got there we did not know what to expect. We r from Illinois and flew into San Jose and then drove to the Ranch. When we got there we were so tired we just wanted to find the group we were meeting and discuss if we were going to stay or not. We did end up staying, but for me not under good circumstances. To start the 5 star dining that they have in the "Ranch" was closed the day we went. Second, we stayed in the bunk house which is not connected to the main area, and it was at the time not renovated like the rest of the hotel. When our group did show up we went out to dinner and was there for the majority of the night. When we got back we sat out on the pleasent porch but shared porch. shared meaning that all of the other guests in the bunk house had access to the porch. this was very akward because noise carried very well and u almost felt like u were shouting. We went off to bed and woke up in the morning. the beds by the way were great! best beds i have ever slept on. when we woke in the morning my dad went out and got breakfast and coffee for everyone when they woke up. when we were eating a few cats showed up and were very annoying. and speaking of animals there is a cage area of animals and that smelt like they were all dead, how ever they seemed to be well fed, but their water was a little gross. now for our paranormal expierences. my mom locked the door the night before and when we woke up the door was unlocked. although it seems like just a mistake, i watched her lock it and that was one of the things that keeps happening there. another was when my uncle and the desk clerk went to go get ice out of a celler a blue light showed on the womans stomach, and they were underground in a pitch black room. it was a very well advertised place, but very poorly kept. not a place to take your teenage family, they'll get mad like i did haha! happy traveling everyone!

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank iloveyosemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
2.9 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
23.4 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
6.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
1.5 mi away
Hounds Tooth Inn
Hounds Tooth Inn
#5 of 10 in Oakhurst
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sky Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sky Ranch

Property: Sierra Sky Ranch
Address: 50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sierra Sky Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Sky Ranch is just 10 miles from Yosemite's southern entrance. Established in 1875, it was the first working cattle ranch in the area; in 1946 it was converted to a guest facility. Visitors come from all over the world for its simple, laid back atmosphere. Rustic yet comfortable, this 100-year-old converted mountain ranch house is the perfect family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sky Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sky Ranch Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing