We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, even nice staff”
Review of Sierra Sky Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Sky Ranch
Ranked #5 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have arrived the hotel quite late at over 9pm after I came out of the Yosemite Valley; and the guy was just waiting for us to check in, quite patient and nice. Room looks good and furniture is really American style. We enjoyed the breakfast and had a nice chat with the waitress.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 252 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went for an overnight stay only to find out when we arrived that our King Suite (reserved weeks ahead) had a pipe bust earlier in the week. They said they tried to clean it but it wasn't dry. (Hello? Rug Doctor anyone?) We pointed out the fact that they should have called and he said he agreed but couldn't give us a reason why he didn't. We drove all that way to find this out. Then the guy at the desk said he had another room for us and tried to give us a tiny queen WITHOUT any discount in the price! Same as if we had reserved that. No compensation at all! When he took us there we discovered it's next to a sitting room where we might have to put up with people all night long. Not to mention the overwhelming smell of cat spray through out the whole place. I have pets and my house does not smell that way. Then we were told they wouldn't get us into the restaurant that night either. The manager always looked at the ground and never met our eyes. 20 minutes passed and he never looked up. He was looking at the ground, not at anything. Really creepy. Then the coffe pot we requested for the room was filthy! We called and changed to the Pines at Bass lake. Wonderful stay at THAT place. This place must have good reviews from people who work there and not actual patrons. So glad we didn't stay! Yuck!

Room Tip: Go to another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked hotel whilst visiting Yosemite. Really quirky hotel, loads of character. Staff very friendly and food in restaurant is really good.

Room was very cute and clean.

Ranch is reported haunted and can feel very eerie. Not sure if I experienced something or that I was so conscience of it being haunted I dreamt it.........

Great location to reach Yosemite.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Whilst visiting Yosemite National Park, my wife and I wanted to stay somewhere a bit different to the hotels and motels we were staying in throughout the rest of our trip. With this in mid, the Sierra Sky Ranch was the perfect place for us to stay.

The Ranch has history and real atmosphere. Our room was very warm and cosy with real rustic charm.

Breakfast is included in the room rate, which was extremely welcome. The choice of pancakes or a cooked breakfast was perfect.

On our 2nd night in the ranch, we just relaxed in one of the sitting rooms with a glass of wine ($6 for the biggest glass of red ever!) and chilled out with the cats that live at the ranch.

All in all a really lovely stay.

Why just 4 stars? On arriving at the Ranch, we got a little bit lost, as although there is a big sign on the main road, there is nothing visible in the dark when you drive past. This left us feeling a bit lost and confused. Also, the Ranch feels like it would just benefit from a little bit of TLC, but was a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for Yosemite National Park. In September the evenings were getting cold, but a log fire was lit on each of our two evenings and the heating was turned on the second night. One of our rooms was superb, my own being musty-smelling and rather small, but the bed was very comfortable. The dining room and lounge are excellent, with a lovely, old-colonial atmosphere, beautifully furnished and well cared-for. In other, outside, areas neglect is obvious. Staff were very helpful, breakfast good and dinner was available even though we were late on our first night. Don't come here for a luxury stay, but you will have a convenient base for visiting Yosemite, and a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: There seemed to be a discrepancy in the quality of different rooms and you may want to try to ensure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in August while visiting Yosemite. The lodge itself is beautiful, the rooms are lovely and the staff super friendly. We had dinner at the restaurant which was amazing (great ribs and good wine) but were disappointed with breakfast. Overall though, the bad breakfast didn't take anything away from the great stay we had. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Go into Oakhurst for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrs_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The lodge is located in an absolutely stunning location. The staff were very friendly both in the hotel and in the restaurant. They have a few cats that wonder about the lobby, that we felt added a bit of charm. The lobby area was lovely, very charming.
We had a family room in the bunk house and it was very basic accommodation. In my opinion the rooms really require updating.
The bedding was clean but the sheets were ripped in places. In our room there were a couple of strips missing from the vertical blinds which meant people could see into our room from outside.
The outside pool could also do with an update as the water was dirty. It was a real shame that the rooms were not up to standard as this place could be a gem as the location was stunning and the staff were so nice. Compared to other places we stayed on our trip around all of California this worked out as the most expensive room and the poorest standard!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jomo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
2.9 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
6.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
22.3 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sky Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sky Ranch

Address: 50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range: $88 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sierra Sky Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Sky Ranch is just 10 miles from Yosemite's southern entrance. Established in 1875, it was the first working cattle ranch in the area; in 1946 it was converted to a guest facility. Visitors come from all over the world for its simple, laid back atmosphere. Rustic yet comfortable, this 100-year-old converted mountain ranch house is the perfect family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sierra Sky Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sky Ranch Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing