We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It maybe historic, but it needs some TLC!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Sky Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sierra Sky Ranch
Ranked #8 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It maybe historic, but it needs some TLC!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family of five stayed at the Sierra Sky Ranch when visiting Yosemite in July 2012. We had two rooms, a single queen and a double queen. Both rooms were in the main building with french doors that opened to a large veranda. At first glance, you can appreciate the building's history and the location, but that's where the appreciation ends. The double queen room was tight. The shower needed cleaning or it could be hard water stains, don't know. The complimentary breakfast was meager. I asked for sugar and they had none. The AC vent in our room was directly over our bed, blowing on our heads. The AC broke in the kids room so the hotel manager offered the kids complimentary dinner in the hotel's restaurant which was very good but it didn't make up for the stifling heat. That same night, someone tried to forcefully enter my kids' room through the french doors. My girls thought it was just children playing. They looked outside but saw no one; it was 2:30 AM. We found out later the ranch is supposed to be haunted. The ranch could be a really nice place if the owner invested some time and money in the place. Don't think I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    49
    23
    23
    32
See reviews for
46
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have to echo the reviewers who commented on the the poor quality of the rooms and lack of attention from the staff at this place. The girl who checked us in was great - very friendly and informative but that was the only real high point. This place seems to be suffering from a lack of care on the part of the owners - you can't even really tell until you've got out of the car that you're in the right place! The shower room was tiny with nowhere to put anything and the bedroom was far too small for the 2 Queen beds in it. Also the walls are really thin (I hope the mans next door's cough is better) so when your neighbour gets up for a shower, that's when you get up! Breakfast was the worst we had during our visit to California - some items of food missing and no sign of any staff to ask (when someone did find turn up, he was surly and seemed to resent the guests). This is all such a shame as this could be a really wonderful place - the location is amazing and the building is historic and quirky but I suppose being near to Yosemite you don't have to try too hard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakhurst hotels

North Wales, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

After 50 years of travelling around the world, EUREKA....I have found it !!!!!
The worst hotel / doss-house ever....and at an exorbitant price too.
What can I say....
***.the room was so small that we could not fit ourselves and the luggage in
***the bathroom floor was dirty and gritty
***The shower had not been cleaned for ages, it seemed...
***there was no place to hang clothes and no wardrobe
***the air-con blew a gale onto one's head from directly above the bed
***the so-called complementary breakfast was not even able to provide a drop of milk until 9.15
***the blinds did not fit the window which was open to the public verandah
***beware of the "Bunk House"...its a slum
***not at all disabled friendly
***no manager on duty, just a bewildered and rather lost and embarrassed young woman
***leather furniture in the lounge was split with stuffing spilling out
***the carpet was badly stained and needed hoovering too
***the advertised restaurant was closed but for weekends
STAY AT YOUR PERIL....after a late arrival, we had a very early departure the next day, and that was not soon enough.
Historic is OK, shabby chic is OK...but dirt and squalor are NOT !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarriUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We booked this hotel as a base to visit Yosemite. It seemed to have a nice unique quality to it being a ranch rather than an average motel. The ranch is quite old and has some lovely characteristics the lobby,sitting room areas give a really historical feel. The staff were very pleasant and could not be faulted they showed us around and made us feel welcome.
The room was quite dark with wine walls, ensuite was very small with a tiny shower, and window in the ensuite did not close properly so a gap at bottom meant the people sitting outside on the porch smoking could hear and see everything, so had to put a facecloth in the gap!
The pool area could do with a clean up as it was quite grotty and unclean. The breakfast was terrible, poor selection, slices of fruit sparsely supplied in order to cut corners. There were lots of items missing the second morning and no staff around to ask for supplies.
We paid 290dollars for 2 nights and felt we were grossly overcharged for a very poor service supplied, given we paid the same amount for a 5 star hotel in las vegas which was out of this world.
The ranch is also farther than you would think from yosemite taking 1.5hours to get to yosemite village on very winding roads, something to consider.
Whilst the staff were very helpful, the ranch needs to spend a good bit improving their standards and yet keep the ranch historical feel as they are charging far too much for this accommodation standard.

Room Tip: if you are staying here make sure its in main part of ranch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slmeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
235 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We paid $150 per night for a suite. The bathroom had a shower that was a disgrace. The spray came from a nozzle that was about 5 feet from the floor. The spigot handles leaked badly and were so badly maintained that it was hard to control the water temperature. The shower itself was badly stained with rust. Just ugly. The steps coming into the hotel were badly maintained - a liability lawsuit just waiting to happen. The breakfast was typical of a low budget motel - cold cereal, toast, do-it-yourself waffles. What made it worse was that there was rarely a waiter or waitress available so when they ran out of orange juice or milk there was no one available to ask for more. All of this in a room costing $150 per night. We stayed at the hotel to attend a wedding. There was a dinner where the service was awful - the wait staff was running around, trying hard to do a good job but without any management. I wouldn't stay at this place again on a bet.

Room Tip: Any room will do as long as it's at another hotel. There are lots of others in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Ranch staff was awesome!!! Everyone working there was very friendly, helpful, and accommodating!! Our group stayed at the Ranch for two nights, Friday and Saturday. Everyone enjoyed sitting out on the veranda and watching the children play on the grass area. The Ranch started serving breakfast 30 minutes earlier than normal so that we would have the opportunity to eat before we needed to leave the Ranch for a wedding in Yosemite. We had a reception at the Ranch that night and the food was excellent!! The staff did a beautiful job setting up the dinner and accommodating our needs. Everyone in our group (all 16 rooms) loved the Ranch! The location, history of the ranch, and staff were the BEST!!

Room Tip: The old converted hospital rooms facing the grassy area were the best for families with children. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC-5-12-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I could not agree with the Australian gentleman more, this is a second rate establishment. Arrived on Memorial day Monday for two pre-booked nights, only to be told that the pool was unavailable due to pollen and that the restuarant does not open on Monday or Tuesday so had to go out to eat both evenings. The room was ok and our plumbing was fine but without common features such as hair dryer or iron. All of the public areas are attractive at first glance until you realise that they are poorly cleaned and that nearly all of the soft furnishings have rips and holes or have come unstiched. The various cats also have the run of the place and sleep on the guest furniture in the lounges. Breakfast was minimal and only plastic cutlery and polystyrene plates and cups were available. As for security, locking your room door is a joke, any five year old could open the room door or break open the French doors to the veranda. I paid 149 US dollars a night for this so thank goodness I wasn't paying their full summer rate. The Ranch's only saving grace is it's setting and the helpful and polite young receptionist who checked us in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
2.9 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
23.3 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 stars 1,777 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
6.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sky Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sky Ranch

Property: Sierra Sky Ranch
Address: 50552 Road 632, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9679
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sierra Sky Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Sky Ranch is just 10 miles from Yosemite's southern entrance. Established in 1875, it was the first working cattle ranch in the area; in 1946 it was converted to a guest facility. Visitors come from all over the world for its simple, laid back atmosphere. Rustic yet comfortable, this 100-year-old converted mountain ranch house is the perfect family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Sierra Sky Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sky Ranch Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing