We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. This was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our Southwest trip.

Front desk personnel was extremely friendly. The room was very spacious, clean, quiet and well maintained. We had two queen beds, (normal) tv, fridge and microwave.

We chose this hotel because all hotels in Yosemite Valley were already full, and I can only agree with some reviews posted earlier: the ride to Yosemite Valley is long. It took us 1 hour and 20 minutes to get to the Valley. But I suppose you have the same problem if you stay in Mariposa. If staying in the valley is not an option, this hotel is a great alternative.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merluza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    944
    433
    110
    47
See reviews for
841
923
44
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

In the four hotels we've stayed in during this vacation, this one was my favorite. We really enjoyed our stay here, the grounds are very nice to walk around and our room was spacious and clean. It had a mini fridge and microwave, big bathroom, 2 queen beds, TV, table and chairs, and a walk out sliding door to one of the pools. The grounds were the best part of this hotel. We sat out at one of the tables outside relaxing after our Yosemite excursions, we'd go for short walks taking in the surroundings.

One thing...it really is a long drive from the hotel to where you wanted to be in the park. A long and very windy drive. If we ever go back to Yosemite again, (I agree with the many, many posters who've said this) we would NOT stay outside the park. We would definitely book in the Village or Lodge area.

The Gateway gave their guests 20% off the breakfast next door at the Gateway Inn's restaurant. I don't normally complain, but... my silverware wasn't clean and my eggs weren't done...I don't think I can order eggs for a while. The service was slow but very friendly, the place looks really pleasant, our food was not. We then went to Katie's Kitchen a couple blocks away and very much enjoyed their delicious breakfasts (we ordered the Belgian strawberry waffle & western omelet, yumm!)...we enjoyed them so much, we came back the next day.

We also enjoyed the El Cid Mexican restaurant for dinner and Margarita's restaurant even more!

  • Liked — The grounds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

We ended up staying here because all of the more reasonably priced accommodation in Yosemite was fully booked. The hotel is clean and relatively comfortable (but our room was airless and hot with a very noisy air conditioning unit) and if we were to visit Yosemite again we would make sure we stayed in the park and not in Oakhurst.

  • Liked — Proximity to Yosemite Park
  • Disliked — Airless room, dated decor.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

We have no complaints about this hotel. The rooms are large and nicely decorated with furnishings that have an older feel to them rather than the modern square featureless design that is so common in chain hotels. There was both a fridge and microwave in the room and the grounds were pleasant to sit in after a hectic days walking in the National Parks.

We ate in the restaurant for both our evening meal and breakfast (hotel guests get a discount for breakfast) and found both the service and food to be good. Some reviewers report that the menu is limited, we would say it’s typical of most Californian restaurants.

Whilst Oakhurst is close to Yosemite it’s still a long drive into Yosemite Valley so if you want more than one day in Yosemite then you may be better off staying inside the park.

Part of the hotel is built on a hill so it may not suit the less mobile but I think there are some rooms at the front of the main building that are on flat ground.

  • Liked — Large clean rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

This is a lovely Best Western in a spacious hillside setting.
Front desk was very pleasant and helpful and our room was enormose with two large beds in one room and a dividing door to a further room with another large bed and additional TV. The room was well maintained and very clean. We also had a large balcony with nice views over the grounds.

Couldn't ask for more for the price we paid!

  • Liked — Comfy spacious accomodation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pinkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

This is really handy place to stay if you are touring Yosemite and don’t want to go broke staying inside the park. It’s not far from the south entrance to the park making it easy to get in and out of.

We arrived right at check in time to find no wait at reception. Despite that, it still took 15 minutes for us to get our room assignment. It turned out that the person on duty had just started and completed her training.

There is plenty of parking here but you may have a bit of a walk depending on your room assignment. We did not but had to park on a hill which made moving our bags from the car to the room a bit tricky.

The room was really nice. It had a log cabin feel to it. It was clean with no strange odors. The bathroom was also very clean and the whole room well maintained. It was unusually hot that day (101) so we found the pool which thankfully is located in a shaded area. It was clean and we cooled down nicely following the swim.

As far as food goes, there aren’t many choices in this town unless you prefer fast food. We ate at the hotel. It wasn’t all that expensive but the menu did not have many choices and the service was slow. The restaurant was full of hotel guests and was obviously understaffed so my guess is that the kitchen was as well. It took a while for food orders to arrive but I can report that the staff did their best under the circumstances. The quality of the food was at least good when it did arrive. Breakfast the following morning was better in terms of service.

As I said, this is near the southern entrance to Yosemite. There are plenty of gas stations to top off your tank and food places to stock up on food and drink before returning to the park. We did the park in two days and this hotel and town provided a good place for us to rest for a night and then continue our adventure the next day. The hotel is fine for an overnight stay and I doubt many people stay here longer than that unless staying there while visiting the park.

  • Liked — Proximity to Yosemite and Clean, Comfortable Rooms
  • Disliked — Service in the Dining Room very Slow and Menu Choices Limited
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

I have stayed at many places throughout the world, and really love California and it's cuisine. My stay at the Best Western in Oakhurst was excellent! The food was done outstanding, even with skepticism from past reviews. Great food, quality, and prices even lower than others. The Chicken Serranto was out of this world, and the steaks which are Angus, were cooked perfectly. I, and my party of 18, would highly recommend this restaurant and it's food. Also, thanks for the great service! We will be back!

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — No night life
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Theexpertonfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
5.0 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing