We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sufficient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sufficient”
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We ended up staying here because all of the more reasonably priced accommodation in Yosemite was fully booked. The hotel is clean and relatively comfortable (but our room was airless and hot with a very noisy air conditioning unit) and if we were to visit Yosemite again we would make sure we stayed in the park and not in Oakhurst.

  • Liked — Proximity to Yosemite Park
  • Disliked — Airless room, dated decor.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopsBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    1,033
    446
    115
    53
See reviews for
932
995
44
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We have no complaints about this hotel. The rooms are large and nicely decorated with furnishings that have an older feel to them rather than the modern square featureless design that is so common in chain hotels. There was both a fridge and microwave in the room and the grounds were pleasant to sit in after a hectic days walking in the National Parks.

We ate in the restaurant for both our evening meal and breakfast (hotel guests get a discount for breakfast) and found both the service and food to be good. Some reviewers report that the menu is limited, we would say it’s typical of most Californian restaurants.

Whilst Oakhurst is close to Yosemite it’s still a long drive into Yosemite Valley so if you want more than one day in Yosemite then you may be better off staying inside the park.

Part of the hotel is built on a hill so it may not suit the less mobile but I think there are some rooms at the front of the main building that are on flat ground.

  • Liked — Large clean rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

This is a lovely Best Western in a spacious hillside setting.
Front desk was very pleasant and helpful and our room was enormose with two large beds in one room and a dividing door to a further room with another large bed and additional TV. The room was well maintained and very clean. We also had a large balcony with nice views over the grounds.

Couldn't ask for more for the price we paid!

  • Liked — Comfy spacious accomodation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pinkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

This is really handy place to stay if you are touring Yosemite and don’t want to go broke staying inside the park. It’s not far from the south entrance to the park making it easy to get in and out of.

We arrived right at check in time to find no wait at reception. Despite that, it still took 15 minutes for us to get our room assignment. It turned out that the person on duty had just started and completed her training.

There is plenty of parking here but you may have a bit of a walk depending on your room assignment. We did not but had to park on a hill which made moving our bags from the car to the room a bit tricky.

The room was really nice. It had a log cabin feel to it. It was clean with no strange odors. The bathroom was also very clean and the whole room well maintained. It was unusually hot that day (101) so we found the pool which thankfully is located in a shaded area. It was clean and we cooled down nicely following the swim.

As far as food goes, there aren’t many choices in this town unless you prefer fast food. We ate at the hotel. It wasn’t all that expensive but the menu did not have many choices and the service was slow. The restaurant was full of hotel guests and was obviously understaffed so my guess is that the kitchen was as well. It took a while for food orders to arrive but I can report that the staff did their best under the circumstances. The quality of the food was at least good when it did arrive. Breakfast the following morning was better in terms of service.

As I said, this is near the southern entrance to Yosemite. There are plenty of gas stations to top off your tank and food places to stock up on food and drink before returning to the park. We did the park in two days and this hotel and town provided a good place for us to rest for a night and then continue our adventure the next day. The hotel is fine for an overnight stay and I doubt many people stay here longer than that unless staying there while visiting the park.

  • Liked — Proximity to Yosemite and Clean, Comfortable Rooms
  • Disliked — Service in the Dining Room very Slow and Menu Choices Limited
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2008

I have stayed at many places throughout the world, and really love California and it's cuisine. My stay at the Best Western in Oakhurst was excellent! The food was done outstanding, even with skepticism from past reviews. Great food, quality, and prices even lower than others. The Chicken Serranto was out of this world, and the steaks which are Angus, were cooked perfectly. I, and my party of 18, would highly recommend this restaurant and it's food. Also, thanks for the great service! We will be back!

  • Liked — The Restaurant
  • Disliked — No night life
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Theexpertonfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This is a popular hotel on the main road en route to Yosemite.

Rooms are within blocks scattered across the hotel grounds which are a little hilly and well kept.

There is both an outdoor and indoor pool. I tried the former and found it to be clean and just the right temperature.

My room was dark and, I'm sorry to say, dirty. There were dead insects everywhere and when looking for an outlet for my laptop I moved some furniture to find the remains of a take-away - lovely, I'm sure.

There is an on-site restaurant - which is okay but not great. The service was dismal and the food was, well, boring.

I had a two night stay and thought that it was such a shame - this place would be great if there was just a little more attention to service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We, two adults and a nine years old child, stayed at the Yosemite Gateway Inn on the 17th of July for two nights.
The guy at the reception was a little bit sulky. The rooms were distributed to several houses. Our room was located in the upper last building. We were very surprised about the nice location and room that was held in cottage style. Clean, very quiet, spacious and a small kitchen was also included. There is an outdoor pool with an outdoor spa and also the same for indoor fans. The pools are not very large but enough for a quick refreshment after a hard day in Yosemite. We can recommend the nearby restaurant for breakfast but not for dinner. Breakfast means large dishes for small money. The other way round at the evening. Small dishes for too much money.
We can recommend this motel with good conscience.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#6 of 9 in Oakhurst
172 reviews
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,910 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing