We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for One Night if Touring Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2008

This is really handy place to stay if you are touring Yosemite and don’t want to go broke staying inside the park. It’s not far from the south entrance to the park making it easy to get in and out of.

We arrived right at check in time to find no wait at reception. Despite that, it still took 15 minutes for us to get our room assignment. It turned out that the person on duty had just started and completed her training.

There is plenty of parking here but you may have a bit of a walk depending on your room assignment. We did not but had to park on a hill which made moving our bags from the car to the room a bit tricky.

The room was really nice. It had a log cabin feel to it. It was clean with no strange odors. The bathroom was also very clean and the whole room well maintained. It was unusually hot that day (101) so we found the pool which thankfully is located in a shaded area. It was clean and we cooled down nicely following the swim.

As far as food goes, there aren’t many choices in this town unless you prefer fast food. We ate at the hotel. It wasn’t all that expensive but the menu did not have many choices and the service was slow. The restaurant was full of hotel guests and was obviously understaffed so my guess is that the kitchen was as well. It took a while for food orders to arrive but I can report that the staff did their best under the circumstances. The quality of the food was at least good when it did arrive. Breakfast the following morning was better in terms of service.

As I said, this is near the southern entrance to Yosemite. There are plenty of gas stations to top off your tank and food places to stock up on food and drink before returning to the park. We did the park in two days and this hotel and town provided a good place for us to rest for a night and then continue our adventure the next day. The hotel is fine for an overnight stay and I doubt many people stay here longer than that unless staying there while visiting the park.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,865 - 1,871 of 2,625 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2008

I have stayed at many places throughout the world, and really love California and it's cuisine. My stay at the Best Western in Oakhurst was excellent! The food was done outstanding, even with skepticism from past reviews. Great food, quality, and prices even lower than others. The Chicken Serranto was out of this world, and the steaks which are Angus, were cooked perfectly. I, and my party of 18, would highly recommend this restaurant and it's food. Also, thanks for the great service! We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Theexpertonfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This is a popular hotel on the main road en route to Yosemite.

Rooms are within blocks scattered across the hotel grounds which are a little hilly and well kept.

There is both an outdoor and indoor pool. I tried the former and found it to be clean and just the right temperature.

My room was dark and, I'm sorry to say, dirty. There were dead insects everywhere and when looking for an outlet for my laptop I moved some furniture to find the remains of a take-away - lovely, I'm sure.

There is an on-site restaurant - which is okay but not great. The service was dismal and the food was, well, boring.

I had a two night stay and thought that it was such a shame - this place would be great if there was just a little more attention to service and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We, two adults and a nine years old child, stayed at the Yosemite Gateway Inn on the 17th of July for two nights.
The guy at the reception was a little bit sulky. The rooms were distributed to several houses. Our room was located in the upper last building. We were very surprised about the nice location and room that was held in cottage style. Clean, very quiet, spacious and a small kitchen was also included. There is an outdoor pool with an outdoor spa and also the same for indoor fans. The pools are not very large but enough for a quick refreshment after a hard day in Yosemite. We can recommend the nearby restaurant for breakfast but not for dinner. Breakfast means large dishes for small money. The other way round at the evening. Small dishes for too much money.
We can recommend this motel with good conscience.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed here for three nights as a base for visting the park. The hotel was of a good standard, we were allocated a king room where the air con had not been on for a few days so it took a while to cool on a very hot day.
Facilities were good, indoor and outdoor pool but we did not use these. Internet access was good available in room.
We did not use the onsite restaurant due to past reviews but found out that this is now run by the hotel and seemed busy, Can recommend Katies country kitchen for breakfast.
As too previous comments on distance to the park come on, it is huge no one hotel will fill the bill. This was good for Mariposa Grove, 15 miles, Glacier point, about 35 miles, and Yosemite Valley about 40 miles. But in between there were picture spots just waiting for you to pull off.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank uktravellerBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed at this Best Western for two nights as part of long summer road trip. We picked Oakhurst for it's proximity to Yosemite. The hotel room was clean and large. The decor was a tad dated, but overall the room was comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed the outdoor pool at the end of a hot day in Yosemite (they also have an indoor pool, but we did not use it). Overall, we had a good experience at this property. One note to travelers who are visiting Yosemite - it is a long, winding mountain drive to get into Yosemite from Oakhurst. It can take up to 90 minutes or more depending on traffic and construction just to get to Yosemite valley. So, if you stay in Oakhurst, plan on a long slog just to drive in and get back out.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GuitarGuyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I loved this place. We stayed in chilly March and it was great. They have an indoor and outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. The room was very big and clean. The beds were pretty comfy and I liked the decor. It was far nicer than some supposed higher end hotels I stayed in for 3 times the price. The staff were very kind when I got sick and needed the urgent care clinic. Beautiful setting and perfect location on the way to Yosemite. By far the best Best Western I've ever stayed in and one of the nicest hotels in its class period.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
622 reviews
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $97 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing