We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel stay in Best Western Oakhurst, CA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
oakhurst, CA, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel stay in Best Western Oakhurst, CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Getting in late on a motorcycle riding from Susanville (~350 miles), we were exhausted. The staff was immediately helpful and all our needs addressed. The room was very nice and comfortable and the bike was right out side the room allowing easy unloading. Very happy and would go there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Victor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    861
    401
    107
    44
See reviews for
759
831
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Do not stay in the new section. It's noisy, poorly decorated and has no personality. If you look at their website, yet are booked into the new section, the pictures do not even come close to describing what your room will look like. Also, the new section is right on Highway 41 and is noisy. To be fair, the hotel is close to Yosemite's south gate, was spotless and very large. The room itself was the disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great hotel. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were the best of all the places we stayed on our trip out west. We had breakfast in the restaurant next door. We ordered off the menu because the buffet did not have anything that appealed to us. The breakfast food was great and the service was outstanding. We went to Yosemite from the hotel and appreciated that is was so close by. We would definately return and recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I wasn't greeted checking in. The women seemed irritated that I was interupting HER time. The layout for this BW is complicated and large. The attitude giving instructions finding my room was like "I'm only going to tell you ONCE" The mattresses in the room were covered in plastic that made noise under the sheets. The bed had a clammy feel. I slept with my clothes on, on top of the bedding. The bed was old and uncomfortable as well as the rest of the room. Poor lighting in room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

WOW, really there's is no other word for this hotel! From the first minute we walked into the lobby we felt like we were in a fantasy land. The reception lobby was stunning, and had a souvenir shop the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were even kind enough to send our post cards for us. The room took us by surprise. We only paid around $80 for the night so we didn't expect much but just hoped that it was clean. I was pleasantly surprised to see a large well appointed and clean room. The large beautiful painting on the wall was the perfect finishing touch! We decided to eat at the onsite restaurant and I'm so glad we did. Being a super fussy eater I ordered a meal but asked for a bunch of changes including no capsicum. The next thing I know the chef comes out to our table to ensure that he completely understood what I meant by "capsicum" apparently it's called something different in the states. He couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating! An absolute treasure of a place to stay! I'll be back next time I come to Yosemite!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked here during the ‘Rim’ fire of August/September 2013 following a recommendation from a friend. Our booking was a back-up plan in the event that our first choice booking (The Evergreen Lodge) was closed due to the fire. The Evergreen Lodge was indeed still closed so we used this booking and were pleasantly surprised by it. The room was very good (a two bedroom option with shared bathroom) and the location is pretty good for Yosemite despite being a 45 minute pleasant drive from the hotel to Yosemite Valley. Our original booking would have been closer.

We booked a room with inclusive breakfast for which we were offered a buffet or table service option each day. CHOOSE THE TABLE SERVICE OPTION!!! We chose the buffet on the first day and it was fairly poor. It was occasionally very busy, many items ran out repeatedly and some of the food was of poor quality (e.g. hard pancakes). The table service option experienced on subsequent days was far nicer and allows you to order anything from the menu for your pre-paid price (they like a tip at the end though!). Quality on the table service items was good (e.g. French toast breakfast with bacon or sausage) and the service was very friendly and efficient. Any drink (e.g. juice, tea or coffee) was included for the pre-paid breakfast.

The restaurant/bar is also good for evening use – we used it twice. Good quality food and good service. There’s a good range of beers to choose from also. Prices weren’t unreasonable. There are plenty of other nearby restaurants to try if you prefer.

We stayed at our original choice (Evergreen Lodge) last year and would choose it over this accommodation for a trip to beautiful Yosemite where possible in future but the Yosemite Gateway Inn is a good place to stay nonetheless and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the warm, inviting look of the property when we arrived. The staff was extremely pleasant too. The kicker here was how beautiful the grounds were when we woke up the next morning! Nestled in the mountain side we couldn't have asked for more and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Best Western + Iniative, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing