We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Surprisingly good, great breakfast (but avoid the buffet!) and good evening meals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
London, England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good, great breakfast (but avoid the buffet!) and good evening meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked here during the ‘Rim’ fire of August/September 2013 following a recommendation from a friend. Our booking was a back-up plan in the event that our first choice booking (The Evergreen Lodge) was closed due to the fire. The Evergreen Lodge was indeed still closed so we used this booking and were pleasantly surprised by it. The room was very good (a two bedroom option with shared bathroom) and the location is pretty good for Yosemite despite being a 45 minute pleasant drive from the hotel to Yosemite Valley. Our original booking would have been closer.

We booked a room with inclusive breakfast for which we were offered a buffet or table service option each day. CHOOSE THE TABLE SERVICE OPTION!!! We chose the buffet on the first day and it was fairly poor. It was occasionally very busy, many items ran out repeatedly and some of the food was of poor quality (e.g. hard pancakes). The table service option experienced on subsequent days was far nicer and allows you to order anything from the menu for your pre-paid price (they like a tip at the end though!). Quality on the table service items was good (e.g. French toast breakfast with bacon or sausage) and the service was very friendly and efficient. Any drink (e.g. juice, tea or coffee) was included for the pre-paid breakfast.

The restaurant/bar is also good for evening use – we used it twice. Good quality food and good service. There’s a good range of beers to choose from also. Prices weren’t unreasonable. There are plenty of other nearby restaurants to try if you prefer.

We stayed at our original choice (Evergreen Lodge) last year and would choose it over this accommodation for a trip to beautiful Yosemite where possible in future but the Yosemite Gateway Inn is a good place to stay nonetheless and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    932
    426
    109
    47
See reviews for
818
904
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the warm, inviting look of the property when we arrived. The staff was extremely pleasant too. The kicker here was how beautiful the grounds were when we woke up the next morning! Nestled in the mountain side we couldn't have asked for more and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Out of choice I would have stayed in the park but initially we were only planning to drive through Yosemite as this was our second visit. However, we decided to spend two nights here which meant driving in to the park twice. If you get car sick take pills as the road twists and turns for miles! The hotel room (141) was in an annexe and was very nice, no complaints apart from the fact there were no tea bags! Bed was comfy, no noise, staff very helpful. The decor in the lobby and restaurant was quite peculiar for 2013. It was like stepping back in time as it was all plastic flowers and dated pictures. We ate our evening meal both nights in the restaurant and the food was very good, but they really need to upgrade the cutlery and condiments if I am picky. We had breakfast the first day but I have to agree with other comments that it is not up to scratch so we ate at Dennys the next day. Dennys was very modern and I have to admit I was impressed with the fact they are more aware of healthy eating than last time I was in the States. I would stay here again but not if spending more than one night due to the distance to the park.

Room Tip: 141 very modern, not sure what the rooms in the mail building would be like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoaBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived late and left early but had an excellent night's stay. Large room which was clean and quiet. Great location to Yosemite National Park for a good price. Staff was very nice when we arrived late.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights during a trip to Yosemite. The room was clean but very dated. The beds were so-so but the pillows had seen much better days. Sleeping was very difficult because the AC roared to life every time it cycled on. We ate breakfast one morning in the restaurant .... the food was served luke warm.

The drive to Yosemite Valley took about 90 minutes. The town itself didn't have much to offer and, like the pillows, has seen better days.

We drove through Mariposa and the hotels looked much newer as did the town itself. That might be a better choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
195 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We slept one night in this hotel because we didn't have any alternative hotel. The town is quite small and the options are very few.
It's Best Western Plus hotel and as such , we expected more.
We were disappointed. The hotel lobby is beautiful, but you can't say it about the rooms (at least our room..).
It was on the upper side of the hotel, and we had to descend stairs which were quite dangerous and in my opinion not meet the safety standard.. They were too narrow and could cause falling. In addition - the level of cleanliness of the stairs is very poor.
The room was small and smells.
The wifi service was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Best Western Plus at Yosemite Gateway Inn was wonderful. The grounds are amazing! The room was clean and spacious. We loved the indoor pool and spa which was also well kept. I definitely am going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing