We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A satisfactory hotel - one of the more affordable in the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A satisfactory hotel - one of the more affordable in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is quite conveniently located for Yosemite, although there is a bit of a drive to get there, it is more affordable than accommodation a lot closer to the park. Having said that it was the most expensive room we stayed in on our holiday and the room itself was probably the worst. When we arrived we found black hairs on the bathroom floor and in the sink. There were also some hairs on the pillow and a few small hairs in the sheets. We asked if we could be moved. The receptionist was very sympathetic but said we couldn't be moved as they were full. We went out for dinner and the receptionist actually changed the bed and cleaned our room herself. The room itself has quite tired décor but has a comfortable bed, a good TV, a large bathroom - what you would expect. We had breakfast included, this was also a bit of a disappointment. The staff seemed a bit run off their feet, and both days there were things missing from the breakfast buffet. Overall this is a satisfactory place to stay when visiting Yosemite but could do with a few improvements.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen2423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    909
    422
    109
    47
See reviews for
803
874
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a very neat two-king bed room at the Best Western Plus. The room included a kitchenette with sink, microwave and refrigerator. The was in their recently added section/wing. The staff and service were great. There were several deer that came almost to the front door, a plus if you like to see some wild life. The hotel is situated right off highway 41 in Oakhurst, near the south entrance to Yosemite National Park.There is an onsite restaurant and It was an easy drive to grocery store and other restaurants in Oakhurst. I will stay here again if I ever stop at Oakhurst enroute to Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and accomodations very much. The restaurant for dinner was excellent!!! The staff were friendly and the setting is beautiful. What more can we say? We most likely would return again unless we went to a bed and breakfast instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights (drove in late afternoon on the first day) and took a tour of Yosemite. We were way up the hill in one of the "family" rooms, which I really liked. It wasn't much more than the other standard rooms, and gave us a lot of space and separate sleeping quarters. The hotel checkin was friendly and the room comfortable and clean. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast for convenience. Wished we had ventured out into the town. The buffet is not good - the eggs were soggy and there was no bacon! So we decided to order off the menu the 2nd day, and it was SLOW, but the food was better. I had not done my homework since we were going to be here only a few days, but when we left, we saw a lot of other places I wished I would have tried. Ok, back to the hotel review - I would definitely stay here again due to the convenience location wise and since the tour picked up from there. It was close enough to Yosemite if taking the tour, but if we were driving ourselves and staying multiple days, I might stay closer to the park. Oakhurst was a nice spot on our tour of northern Cali and worth the trip to see Yosemite.

Room Tip: Choose one of the large, 2-room suites; good value and lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houstondoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I wrote a review for this hotel in 2011. Still the best bet around, except now they do not offer complimentary breakfast, just 20% off at their restaurant. Big disappointment, as the complimentary breakfast was very good and a big plus for my family. Still, there is a new Denny's restaurant just down the street, which is helpful for a hungry family.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200's are next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPantalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

On the plus side, the hotel is well located for visiting Yosemite, and Oakhurst has all the amenities of a tourist area. On the negative side, the staff we encountered (at reception and breakfast) were frosty and unfriendly. No salutations, no enquiry about our plans or stay, no smiles. I was asked to sign an undertaking to agree to pay a hefty cleaning bill in the event we smoked in the non-smoking rooms we had requested. On entering one of the rooms, we found one already smelling strongly of smoke!

The reception area has a bizarre shrine to Ronald Reagan and many bumper stickers for sale that pinned the hotel's political allegiances firmly to the mast! The general unfriendly atmosphere was in stark contrast to most places we stayed on our three week visit to California. If you expect or demand a service culture, I would avoid. If you simply want average accommodation to rest your head while visiting Yosemite, it is adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyguyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is affordable and in a good location for visiting Yosemity N.P. A pity they dropped the free breakfast as of this year. The room are comfortable and the restaurants we had dinner served very good meals and beers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,954 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing