We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room at the Best Western Plus Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a very neat two-king bed room at the Best Western Plus. The room included a kitchenette with sink, microwave and refrigerator. The was in their recently added section/wing. The staff and service were great. There were several deer that came almost to the front door, a plus if you like to see some wild life. The hotel is situated right off highway 41 in Oakhurst, near the south entrance to Yosemite National Park.There is an onsite restaurant and It was an easy drive to grocery store and other restaurants in Oakhurst. I will stay here again if I ever stop at Oakhurst enroute to Yosemite.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,368 of 2,629 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and accomodations very much. The restaurant for dinner was excellent!!! The staff were friendly and the setting is beautiful. What more can we say? We most likely would return again unless we went to a bed and breakfast instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights (drove in late afternoon on the first day) and took a tour of Yosemite. We were way up the hill in one of the "family" rooms, which I really liked. It wasn't much more than the other standard rooms, and gave us a lot of space and separate sleeping quarters. The hotel checkin was friendly and the room comfortable and clean. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast for convenience. Wished we had ventured out into the town. The buffet is not good - the eggs were soggy and there was no bacon! So we decided to order off the menu the 2nd day, and it was SLOW, but the food was better. I had not done my homework since we were going to be here only a few days, but when we left, we saw a lot of other places I wished I would have tried. Ok, back to the hotel review - I would definitely stay here again due to the convenience location wise and since the tour picked up from there. It was close enough to Yosemite if taking the tour, but if we were driving ourselves and staying multiple days, I might stay closer to the park. Oakhurst was a nice spot on our tour of northern Cali and worth the trip to see Yosemite.

Room Tip: Choose one of the large, 2-room suites; good value and lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houstondoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I wrote a review for this hotel in 2011. Still the best bet around, except now they do not offer complimentary breakfast, just 20% off at their restaurant. Big disappointment, as the complimentary breakfast was very good and a big plus for my family. Still, there is a new Denny's restaurant just down the street, which is helpful for a hungry family.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200's are next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPantalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

On the plus side, the hotel is well located for visiting Yosemite, and Oakhurst has all the amenities of a tourist area. On the negative side, the staff we encountered (at reception and breakfast) were frosty and unfriendly. No salutations, no enquiry about our plans or stay, no smiles. I was asked to sign an undertaking to agree to pay a hefty cleaning bill in the event we smoked in the non-smoking rooms we had requested. On entering one of the rooms, we found one already smelling strongly of smoke!

The reception area has a bizarre shrine to Ronald Reagan and many bumper stickers for sale that pinned the hotel's political allegiances firmly to the mast! The general unfriendly atmosphere was in stark contrast to most places we stayed on our three week visit to California. If you expect or demand a service culture, I would avoid. If you simply want average accommodation to rest your head while visiting Yosemite, it is adequate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyguyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel is affordable and in a good location for visiting Yosemity N.P. A pity they dropped the free breakfast as of this year. The room are comfortable and the restaurants we had dinner served very good meals and beers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spent three days here and enjoyed them .Great lay out in the rooms. Double bed for parents with bathroom and kitchenette separating kids room which had two more double beds. Small outdoor pool and a larger indoor pool which was very nice. Food in the hotel restaurant in the evening was very good and to a high standard. The only let down was the breakfast which was sparse and bland with weak tasting coffee.all in all we would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerzeazyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
622 reviews
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
4,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $97 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing