We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    909
    422
    110
    47
See reviews for
803
876
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights at the end of my US trip. Rooms are fine. A little dated decor but clean and comfortable. If stay again.

DO NOT EAT IN THE RESTAURANT. I did for breakfast and then dinner, whilst the service was average the food was poor and way overpriced for the quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCarnaffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is placed on the main road through Oakhurst. Our room was next to the road on the ground floor and was noisy from the traffic but more so from the very noisy air conditioning . The walls of the room were paper thin and every sound from the next room can be heard. The restaurant was only a short walk away and the complimentary breakfast was every bit as good as the main breakfasts that were not free. This restaurant was under separate management and was good value with excellent presentation. The hotel could do with a little upgrading.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road as the traffic noise was loud. Hopefully quieter air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This motel was built into the side of a mountain. Several buildings on different levels. Lush landscaping. Very woodsy feel.
The balcony of our room looked out on the woods to the highway beyond. The room was very spacious. Beds comfortable. Spotless. A/C quiet. Large bathroom with granite. The room was decorated with a large mural of Yosemite. Would definitely stay again. Check in/out very efficient. One nice plus was the very attractive on site restaurant. The food and service very good. Free hot continental breakfast in the restaurant. Many choices. We had a great experience here. Only 15 miles from the south entrance to Yosemite. Be sure and see the big trees in the park at the south entrance.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was just close enough to enjoy Yosemite National Park and come back to relax for the evening. The rooms were clean and the staff very helpful. The bed was good. There is a bar onsite and a mini golf area, along with pool. The landscape was great with all the unusual flowers. The gift shop was awesome. The wood carvings of animals and Statue of Liberty was very nice. The hotel is in walking distance to a lot of gift shops and places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhobofri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Yosemite and loved the place. I think we were lucky enough to have a disabled persons room which was massive, it had three very comfortable queen beds and a large bathroom. We ate in the resturant and had a very nice meal served by a very nice waiter, breakfast was also very good. Overall if we pass this way again then we would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richcoll54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Room were large but mattress was way tool old and uncomfortable, quality of blankets was very bad. Bathroom was small and there were ants throughout the bathroom and rooms. Carpets look old and spotty. The only saving grace was the front desk staff who were courteous and helpful despite the shortcomings. Most BW have free continental breakfast but they did not have it. So not much good can be said about the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABHINAV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,956 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing