We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A gem at a value price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
425 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“A gem at a value price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is built on 5 levels up a hill with separate buildings on each level. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The lobby is also beautiful with a floor to ceiling field stone fireplace. There are no negatives with this hotel. Our room was on level 4 with a sliding glass door and balcony overlooking the town. Everything in the room was designed to be upscale. We checked in on a Saturday night and did not incur any extra charges for the weekend. There is no coupon for this hotel but they do offer a AAA member discount. There is an indoor and outdoor pool. An onsite restaurant offer dinner and breakfast. The hotel does not off a complementary breakfast but does give 25 percent off at the restaurant for guests eating breakfast. This is an upscale tourist town and this is an upscale hotel that we booked for slightly more than a basic hotel price. Even without complimentary breakfast this hotel in a value not to be overlooked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George_and_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    932
    426
    109
    47
See reviews for
818
904
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to Yosemite. The hotel is situated in a lovely setting within the quaint town of Oakhurst. Check in was good, the lady was very friendly. Our room was huge, with two king size beds. It was very clean and well maintained, although the decor was classic which suited the surrounding area. We had a look at the pool but didn't go in as it was a bit late but looked good. The bed was very comfortable and had a fantastic nights sleep there as the surrounding area was peaceful with lack of noise in the evening. Breakfast was good, with bacon, eggs and various pastries and fruit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavandstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, SC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The rooms are nice enough for the price you pay. The grounds are really nice with picnic tables and nice landscaping. There is a nice indoor pool with a hot tub, but there was a giant squirrel jumping around in there that was a bit disconcerting. The place is not new, but it was probably a top notch motel in its day. Still, it is not bad for the location. One funny thing happened as we decided to try the motel restaurant. We went in and there was only a few customers at the bar with many empty tables. The waitress told us there would be about a 15 or 20 minute wait. My wife commented that there is nobody in there and there was another couple standing there who said they had said the same thing. We told them we would go somewhere else and we did not bother going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemson80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

It is an extremely quiet atmosphere. The theme is adorable. The indoor pool was nice and the breakfast was great. If you are traveling with kids ask for first floor. We were not in our room but for 20 minutes and got a call about the noise and this was around 7 at night. First time that has ever happened to us. It would have been nice for them to notice that we had just gotten into the room before calling with a "noise" problem. The kids did whisper everywhere they went because they were afraid they would get into trouble, it actually became very funny. All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peyjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were only here one night and it was OK in a motelish sort of way. We were upstairs on the corner of the building. It was relatively quiet and we didn't need the airconditioning or heat. We had two windows that opened, one in the main room and another in the bath. One of the weakest hairdryers I have ever used. Our room came with breakfast but that only included an extremely limited buffet which was as my husband said "as appealing as a prison meal". We declined to eat there and went elsewhere in town. Not sure why all the positive reviews about the breakfast or the rooms.

Staff seemed fairly surly. We arrived early but were not allowed to check in until after 4. We were told they had opened new rooms but had limited cleaning staff. Our room was ready when we returned at 5pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a very nice stay at this hotel. Loved the old landscaping, the Yosemite murals and the view. The restaurant was excellent. The service was really above and beyond. Did not want to leave. Very good access to the park as well. Most importantly this hotel is pet friendly!!!! Hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated on a very steep hill. Not to worry, a golf cart will take you up if you need help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing