We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The rooms looks like 100 years old” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The rooms looks like 100 years old”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are awful and smelly! The decoration is horrible, everything in dark colors and few lights on the room. It looks like I'm in a dungeon!! I asked for a newer room, and the staff told me I'm already at the newest room! I would NEVER EVER indicate this hotel to anyone! Except for the rooms that are creepy, the staff is really friendly and helpful and the location is great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanoPeGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    861
    401
    107
    44
See reviews for
759
831
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The room was large, clean and spacious. It was good to have Coffee/tea provided for in the room. The breakfast had a good spread with both hot and cold servings. It was a bit of an effort getting our heavy suitcases up to the first floor as there wasn't a lift. I would definitely stay there again !!!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with heavy suitcases avoid rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordie_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Jones, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We chose this hotel because we like the BW Plus brands and it was so convenient to the Yosemite entrance. I do have to agree with a previous review about the rooms being somewhat dated, but the bed and bath room in our room was so large that we can overlook the somewhat dated furnishings. The grounds are beautiful and that makes it easy to overlook a thing or two. There are a couple of things that I would suggest you improve. Please put more than 2 towels in each room. Women, especially those of us with long(er) hair, need 2 towels just for ourselves. Please mount the flat screen TV to the wall. Having it lower than the end of the bed makes viewing difficult if you're laying in bed, which you will be. I had to look around and over the hubbys feet. I hate the things, but you need some speed bumps. Twice we had a speeding car come flying by as we walked to and from the restaurant. The restaurant will be your death. We ate dinner after we arrived. The food was decent but there was only one waitress who doubled as the bartender. That woman ran the whole time and we have no complaints about her service, but clearly you needed more staff. The hostess, did nothing since most came into the lounge and sat themselves. Dump the hostess, get another waitress. The next morning the buffet was disgusting. It took forever to get a table since the girl running the register and checking the buffet tickets was too busy making coffee to get the line moving. We finally just walked by and found a table. There was little on the buffet that was hot and actually edible. You were out of plates, bowls, silverware, juice cups and coffee cups all at the same time. Hard to serve yourself at a buffet when there's nothing to put it on. My husband took one look at the buffet and decided to order from the menu. He brought eggs over easy that were so raw that the clear slime was covering the yolks so they had to be sent back since we don't want to take a chance of him getting sick from eating raw eggs. Although one table had a girl bringing them coffee, no one else was brought coffee. We overheard the girl saying that there are no waitresses at breakfast, just the young girls who bus tables and get things here and there as requested. How do you order from a menu if you don't have waiters/waitresses? We'd come back to the hotel, but as we told the desk clerk during checkout, we'd avoid the restaurant like the plague unless we see some serious changes and that restaurant will deter alot of folks from coming back.

Room Tip: Be mindful of the fact that there are two levels to each block of rooms and no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PV8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012


satisfied with over all quality and services. Nothing fancy but clean and cozy. A bit disturbed by kids or adults running around upstair room. Thinksgiving dinner at the restaurant was fantastic. I never like turkey but the chef there make me love their turkey. I think the young couple spending honeymoon there is not a very good idea since you can hear other rooms. 15 min to Yosemite is not bad at all. It is a beautiful hotel indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank RICHARD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Best Western in Oakhurst, CA has to be the best hotel in this area. The rooms are very large and comfortable. It made the trip even better knowing how awesome Best Western was. Will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DEBRA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We got a room in the 300 block, which was nice and big with a balcony and view of the mountains. Very quite room. We used the indoor pool and Jacuzzi, which was good and clean. Breakfast buffet had good choices of French toast, scrambled eggs, sausages, potatoes, bread, oatmeal, yogurt, peaches in syrup and oranges. Coffee, Tea and fruit juices. Check -in and check-out was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ANU S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing