We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The staff in the restaurant bar area is always the best service in town. The room decor is outdated, but it is a beautiful property. Two swimming pools ,it is nice in the winter to have the indoor pool. My grandsons favorite thing to do at night.


  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ROBIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,518)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,452 of 2,519 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

this is a very nice place in a very nice place ... i would definitely come back. We came to explore the majestic beauty of Yosemite. While enjoying our visit, we were sure to visit the conveniently located "funny bar" across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked two rooms for three nights in November and we had a wonderful time and thought the hotel staff were friendly and the place was well maintained. We had rooms 309 and 310; both were good size and had balconies. These were set near the back of the hotel and it's up a hill so if you are disabled or don't like to walk request to be nearer the street, lobby, and restaurant. However the noise level and views from the back of the property are probably better.

We thought the included breakfast was adequate and the service was friendly and attentive. We asked for a slightly extended checkout and it was graciously granted. This is a terrific value for the money and it's only a 20 minute drive to the southern Yosemite entrance. On a side note--go to Woody's New Orleans West for dinner. It's less than a mile from the hotel on Junction just off of route 49. Huge portions and affordable with tasty creole cuisine. Very unique spot.

Room Tip: Top floor offer better views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talldarkhandsomest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Yosemite Gateway Inn in June 2012 and had a great room with a balcony with a great view of the grounds. It was a great place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and enjoy the view. We brought our dog with us and it was a great place to take him for a stroll. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I only stayed here once and we had a corner room with balcony...would request a balcony again.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well, when my Yosemite traveling partners said they had booked into a Best Western, I was initially concerned because I generally avoid this chain. However, I was quite delighted by the manicured grounds (the place almost looks like a low-brow resort). The room was spacious and comfortable, although I noticed some spots on the blanket. Breakfast: very generous, lots of food, but not that great (I'd rather have one good pastry than a plate of mediocre food). But most people were loading up their plates, and seeming to enjoy it. The staff was generally friendly and accommodating.

One caution: this motel winds up a steep climb. If that will be a problem for you, be sure to book lower-level rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinecalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A large hotel -- we had to drive down for breakfast ! Had a top floor room with 2 queen beds and even a balcony and chairs. As we were on a longish trip we were self catering and found the facilities here excellent. It was nice to have a sink apart from the bathroom and a good table with 2 chairs.
. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room very quiet- no traffic noise or sounds from nearby rooms. The complimentary buffet breakfast served at the restaurant was the best we had on our entire trip

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the hill furthest away from the road.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

As I explored the mountains, valleys and forests of Yosemite over 2 days time, it was easy to imagine what it must have been like for our pioneer forefathers back in the 1800s. Sleeping under the stars. Building a fire to cook their evening meal. Falling asleep under a canopy of stars to the sounds of the forest animals. But after a full day in the company of Mother Nature, I yearn for the civilized comforts of the 21st Century which thankfully the Yosemite Gateway was able to provide (and at a reasonable rate). You know? Falling asleep on a comfortable bed to the sound of an air conditioner after enjoying an evening meal cooked for and served to you in a restaurant. I could not help but notice the mixed experiences of other Trip Advisor reviewers. Our room was comfortably spacious and the furnishings appeared to be relatively new. The hotel is comprised of separate buildings. We were in the uppermost one, on the upper floor. The day we checked out, we noticed that we had neighbors but we would not have noticed during our stay. We had a small balcony that looked out over the tree tops. Not exactly a "view" but a nice sense of rustic privacy. And when we felt the need to connect with the rest of civilization, there was the free WiFi.

We found the Gateway Inn to be ideally located. We were not familar at all with the area around Yosemite. So I started checking Trip Advisor for the various surrounding towns. That's how we decided on Oakhurst, a decison we found confirmed on our arrival. The hotel is right in the village which gave us access to a number of restaurants, a shopping center, a movie theater (had we wanted to do that) and even a chain drug store down the street with an ice cream "parlor"! The front desk staff was very helpful in not just describing the food in different places but in giving their personal recommendations as well, even after our describing our totally unsatisfying experience at the restaurant next door. Yes, as other reviewers have noted, it's about a 20 minute drive from Oakhurst to south gate of the park. But we found it to be an easy one. We also noticed that had we chosen a hotel closer to the park itself, if we had wanted any other choices for a place to eat we would have ended up getting in the car and driving down the highway anyway. It was nice to spend the whole day with Mother Nature. But just like a visit to your Mom, at the end of the day I was happy to get back to my own place....or at least The Gateway Inn's.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMATT914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
253 reviews
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $103 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing