We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel close to Yosemite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to Yosemite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is located near the southeast entrance to Yosemite National Park, about 15 miles to the actual park entrance. The rooms all had exterior entrances and were located in several buildings throughout the property (5-6 buildings). If you want to use the hot tub or pool, get a room near the building in which they are located. Otherwise, it can be a long cold walk in a wet bathing suit. The staff at check-in was efficient but not overly friendly. The room were well maintained and nicely decorated with a comfortable bed. We ate dinner at the hotel’s restaurant. The dinner meal was good and so was the service. The complimentary breakfast offered a good variety, more than most complimentary breakfast buffets. The only downside to the restaurant was the décor. The tables, chairs, and carpet were outdated and a little worn. Every square inch of the walls was covered with paintings, mostly paintings of roses. I appreciate art but this was over the top and didn’t add a pleasing atmosphere. This is a very good hotel and an outstanding value close to Yosemite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    860
    401
    107
    44
See reviews for
758
830
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here one night before our reservation inside Yosemite began. A good choice to stop over on your way into the park. Close enough for visiting Wawona area, a bit far for valley touring but doable if no closer accommodations are available or your budget doesn't allow. The rooms were large and comfortable and the setting very pretty. We had a reasonably priced and tasty dinner in their restaurant, and the free breakfast buffet had a good variety of offerings. The lobby staff were very friendly and helpful. I prefer to stay inside Yosemite whenever possible but this is a good substitute if the park is full and I will return here to explore the Wawona-Mariposa Grove area further.

Room Tip: Buildings at top of the hill, back of property are quiet and near the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Perfect location if you don't want to stay in the park. Staff are relatively friendly, rooms are large and overall very good value for money. As with all Best Western hotels we've stayed at, you get what you pay for and you know what to expect. Great breakfast selection and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is situated on a hotel with the buildings spread out. Nestled in there are an indoor pool and hot tub, an outdoor pool and hot tub (seasonal - open only in summer I think), and an exercise room. There is also a restaurant on the premises where you go for the included free breakfast, which was ok. They had some hot items, fruit, yogurt, hot drinks - the usual. The scrambled eggs were actually pretty good.

The room was a decent size and had a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. Not the best decor, but a comfortable room nonetheless. We stayed only one night while on our way to Yosemite. The hotel is about an hour from the south entrance to the park. It is also worth noting that they are very close to a number of restaurants so there are plenty of dining options

Room Tip: If you are interested in using the pool/hot tub try to get a room further up the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrita55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for one night at this big hotel.
Before our Yosemite tour we checked on MANY hotels near and far from the park entrances, but this one was by far the most reasonably priced compared to nearness to entrance.
The hotel itself is OK - nothing special, nice big room, colors and interiors maybe a little outdated, but absolutely in good shape and clean and quiet.
Breakfast in a separate building was OK - again - nothing special, but OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erikdk9940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Enjoyed the comfortable foam mattress and close location to Yosemite, Mariposa Grove. The room furnishing was kinda outdated and tacky looking. Parking was free and there were microwave and mini fridge in the room. In room wifi Internet was good and working well, which was great for me. However, we were not aware nor informed that the complementary breakfast was only till 9.30am, even though it stated that breakfast was served till 11am. From 9.30am onwards, they served a menu breakfast which u need to pay. We ended up ordering some pancakes, sausages, eggs and cereals. The pancakes were soggy. Not impressed with the food and not worth the money even though there was a 20% discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is nice. Staff is friendly. Breakfast was good. This is a small town and restruants close early in October. Yosemite was well worth seeing. Take the tram to see the trees ($26) in Mariposa and well worth the money. The tempature changes alot wear layed clothing.

Room Tip: No elevator. Ask for 1st floor if you have troubling with steps. Had coffee pot & frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
White Chief Mountain Lodge
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Best Western + Iniative so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing