We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for one night at this big hotel.
Before our Yosemite tour we checked on MANY hotels near and far from the park entrances, but this one was by far the most reasonably priced compared to nearness to entrance.
The hotel itself is OK - nothing special, nice big room, colors and interiors maybe a little outdated, but absolutely in good shape and clean and quiet.
Breakfast in a separate building was OK - again - nothing special, but OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erikdk9940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    881
    411
    108
    44
See reviews for
790
842
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Enjoyed the comfortable foam mattress and close location to Yosemite, Mariposa Grove. The room furnishing was kinda outdated and tacky looking. Parking was free and there were microwave and mini fridge in the room. In room wifi Internet was good and working well, which was great for me. However, we were not aware nor informed that the complementary breakfast was only till 9.30am, even though it stated that breakfast was served till 11am. From 9.30am onwards, they served a menu breakfast which u need to pay. We ended up ordering some pancakes, sausages, eggs and cereals. The pancakes were soggy. Not impressed with the food and not worth the money even though there was a 20% discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaimeT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is nice. Staff is friendly. Breakfast was good. This is a small town and restruants close early in October. Yosemite was well worth seeing. Take the tram to see the trees ($26) in Mariposa and well worth the money. The tempature changes alot wear layed clothing.

Room Tip: No elevator. Ask for 1st floor if you have troubling with steps. Had coffee pot & frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is divided into buildings and not concentrated under one structure. The room we got was huge, 2 bedrooms with a clip in between. Balcony facing the beautiful garden and breakfast minimal but sufficient.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elik972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights in a room overlooking the swimming pool. The room was large, 2 very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean and everything worked. Hi Speed internet throughout the hotel was great, especially for skype.

We ate in the restaurant one night, the food was pretty good, service was a bit amateurish but it was entertaining. Decor in the dining room was dated and a bit shabby but OK.

Room Tip: the laundry was busy and noisy, avoid rooms near to the laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberryeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This best western was big with lots of amenities. The rooms were clean with somewhat dated decor, but everything worked fine and there was a fridge and microwave as well. The desk staff were not particularly friendly, but not rude, ether. The location is great for going to Yosemite, and we also went to Kings Canyon one day of our three there. I would recommend staying at the hotel - but skip the restaurant. Our first night we had dinner there, it took forever to get a simple sandwich and salad. The waitress was nice, but unapologetic, saying that the hotel was full so they were busy. We tried the breakfast the next day. Food was ice cold, very little selection - just awful. Oakhurst is a bit of an odd town. There are very few restaurants open after nine, and there don't seem to be any other than chains or pizza joints. As one other reviewer noted - hit thte grocery store for supplies and you'll be fine. the value for the price was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwatroba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

On a recent trip to yosemite we stayed two nights at the Gateway Inn. The hotel is older, but is well maintained. The rooms are huge. The bathroom vanity was very long, easily accomodating all of the "stuff" my wife brings along, plus all of mine too. The hotel is a bit different in that you check in a very nicely appointed lobby building, then you are assigned a room in one of the many buildings spread randomly across the forested hillside. Because of this design, the hotel blends easily into the beautiful landscape. The attached restaurant lunch and dinner food was very good and the breakfast buffet included eggs and a breakfast meat, plus all of the other things you would expect on a breakfast buffet. Your pool choice includes an indoor and an outdoor pool. We had arranged an all day tour with Discover Yosemite and they promptly picked us up at the front door and returned us to the hotel lobby at the end of the tour. This is an easy way to see yosemite if you only have one day. If you drive it, you are about 20 minutes from the park entrance. That makes this hotel one of the closest to the park. In short, if I'm ever again in this area, I will stay at the Gateway Inn and would not hesitate to recommend that you do the same.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 stars 3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing