We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“pretty place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a nice scenic place built on side of a hill. Lobby is beautiful and rooms are very nice. Outdoor pool and hot tub set in middle of treed courtyard. Free breakfast at restaurant in front of hotel. This place is located about 15 miles from South entrance to Yosemite. We drove up from LA and were able to enter the park in early afternoon. We hiked in the Sequoia grove and then returned to the hotel to spend the night. Next day we entered the park again and drove up to Glacier Point and then to the valley.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daddyo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    944
    433
    110
    47
See reviews for
841
923
44
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a very convenient location for visiting Yosemite. It is a very attractive and excellent facility, with a good staff, large lovely rooms, very clean with a large bathroom and excellent towels. The only negative is that the breakfast buffet which is included, while in an attractive buffet area was ordinary and did not change during our stay. Wifi was very fast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lightpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This Best Western is right off of Hwy 41, which will also take you into Yosemite. The grounds has a nice restaurant for breakfast and dinner. I had a chicken sandwich for dinner and it was very pleased. There is also a play area for the children. The room we had was two bedrooms with 3 queen size beds with a door between the two rooms. The room had a small refrigerator and microwave with a sink separate from the bathroom. We only stayed 1 night, but would use for a family trip of a few days.
The room had a nice patio and view of the well maintained grounds.

Room Tip: I would choose an upstairs room if you don't have children as it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robininfresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel. Good amenities and good breakfast. Price was a little steep, but good place to stay.
Very comfortable beds. It was nice that there was a balcony to sit outside on. The bathroom was large and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billbarb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Although this hotel was some way from Yosemite park and the main sites it was great value, clean and comfortable. If you're driving in from the North I'd advise you to enter the park at the North entrance and spend your day making your way slowly south. The closest attractions in Yosemite to the hotel were the giant Sequoias which took us about an hour to reach.

We spent 2 days in Yosemite park and saw nothing more than a squirrel yet on returning to the hotel we found a young buck deer stood in the parking lot. An additional bonus was the sound of wolves howling in the night. All very authentic!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night after visiting Yosemite. Larger hotel than expected and our room was at the top of a large steep lot. Room was clean and comfortable but decoration was a bit old fashioned .

On site restaurant was OK for dinner, but breakfast was only average.

We paid a noticeable premium to stay here but don't think it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RestfulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Although it is an older property the room was clean, comfortable and spacious enough. I did not like the decor like the art work on the walls but that is a personal taste. My room was a bit dark but this could come from the dark decor like the big painting on the wall and dark furniture. To my taste the room could have a more fresher and airier with other colours.

Complimentary breakfast buffet with warm items was decent and nothing fancy. It tasted good and I would say it is something you can expect for such a price.

Locations wise the hotel is perfect for a stop over when traveling to or from Yosemite. I would not use Oakhurst as a base to discover Yosemite as it takes you ca. 1 hour to get to Yosemite Valley or Glacier Point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerhardvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
13.9 mi away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Way Station Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing