We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Forsyth, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Nice hotel. Good amenities and good breakfast. Price was a little steep, but good place to stay.
Very comfortable beds. It was nice that there was a balcony to sit outside on. The bathroom was large and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billbarb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    1,023
    445
    114
    52
See reviews for
918
988
44
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Although this hotel was some way from Yosemite park and the main sites it was great value, clean and comfortable. If you're driving in from the North I'd advise you to enter the park at the North entrance and spend your day making your way slowly south. The closest attractions in Yosemite to the hotel were the giant Sequoias which took us about an hour to reach.

We spent 2 days in Yosemite park and saw nothing more than a squirrel yet on returning to the hotel we found a young buck deer stood in the parking lot. An additional bonus was the sound of wolves howling in the night. All very authentic!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night after visiting Yosemite. Larger hotel than expected and our room was at the top of a large steep lot. Room was clean and comfortable but decoration was a bit old fashioned .

On site restaurant was OK for dinner, but breakfast was only average.

We paid a noticeable premium to stay here but don't think it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestfulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Although it is an older property the room was clean, comfortable and spacious enough. I did not like the decor like the art work on the walls but that is a personal taste. My room was a bit dark but this could come from the dark decor like the big painting on the wall and dark furniture. To my taste the room could have a more fresher and airier with other colours.

Complimentary breakfast buffet with warm items was decent and nothing fancy. It tasted good and I would say it is something you can expect for such a price.

Locations wise the hotel is perfect for a stop over when traveling to or from Yosemite. I would not use Oakhurst as a base to discover Yosemite as it takes you ca. 1 hour to get to Yosemite Valley or Glacier Point.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerhardvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We came through Kings/Sequoia NP headed to Yosemite. The price was reasonable for the location. The room was the best we had out of a 7 day Calif. trip when we stayed at a different hotel (Best Western or Comfort Inn) each night. Each room has a balcony which we very much enjoyed. The rooms were clean. There were 2 pools. There is a resturant there and free breakfast. The hotel is on a hill which is pretty steep. Each group of rooms is higher and higher up the hill. We were at the top so we drove down an parked at the resturant for breakfast because we did not want to have to climb back up. We stayed here then went into Yosemite and out the other side. I am not sure I would want to keep driving back and forth if I was staying for a few days because it is not that close to Yosemite Valley.

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry your bags up the stairs get on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, the reception is very quirky and impressive, breakfast rooms were big, and the selection for breakfast was excellent, never any queues!. The bedrooms were big, maybe a little dark, but overall more than acceptable. Helpful staff, overall a very good stay!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brades1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was a great hotel, good location great breakfast which was included in the rate. Rooms were of an excellent standard for the price and the hotel facilities were great.

We also ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and the food / service was also of an excellent standard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
161 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing