We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Basic room with all you need but no safe or glasses. Not luxury but then not luxury prices. For one or two nights this is fine to stay at and has a good location. Oak hurst is a one horse town.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyfrasercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    1,033
    446
    115
    53
See reviews for
932
995
44
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel is quite big and not so new but we had a very good time. The only place we had a real bar in an hotel. The restaurant was also very good. People were very friendly. if we have the opportunity, we will go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnestTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel was adequate for our purposes. It had comfortable beds, fridge, microwave, many restaurants nearby, good location for visiting Yosemite.

The furnishings looked a little "Midwestern Grandma" if you will. Old oak furniture, flowery wallpaper borders, pink bedspreads, flowery bedspreads. There was a rear door leading to a patio in our section of rooms.

The lobby looks like the set of "The Colbert Report". Regardless, for our purposes and location we needed, it worked out fine.

They only give you a coupon for 20% off breakfast from the adjacent restaurant, so do not expect a free meal. We opted to eat at another restaurant near the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate 4-5 buildings with adjacent parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Having stayed in other Best Western's we were expecting a non-descript but adequate motel experience. This one, however, has a lot to recommend it despite its dated look. The room was huge, had outdoor seating on a balcony, the bathroom was large though old looking, lots of storage space. The beds were very comfortable. Lots of TV Channels. Fridge and microwave. The hotel is spread over a large woody area, so if you are mobility impaired you might have to drive between restaurant and room or pool or reception but there is plenty of parking. Two pools, one indoor, one outdoor, jacuzzi, laundry, the hotel is in town, restaurant on premises. Dinner at the restaurant was just O.K. However, we were sorry not to have more time to enjoy all the facilities offered and thought it would be a great place for families to enjoy some fun in the Yosemite - Bass Lake area. Not exactly the RItz-Carlton but good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wgputnam, General Manager at Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
We appriciate your comments, Best Western has always had the attitude that we are individual properties and not the average "cookie cutter hotel". We often hear that the property is "dated", this is by choice. We have a comfortable property, in the mountains and we wish to maintain our individuallity. We are continually updating the property, with new beds and flat screen TV's, and other amenities as needed.

One of the major improvements that we recently completed was the addition of an upgraded wireless system, adding 50% more access points and more bandwitdth, with the capability of easily expanding the system as needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed here for 2 two nights in mid-October to go hiking in Yosemite. It's conveniently located on Hwy 41, which is the road that goes right into Yosemite National Park. There are restaurants nearby, including a Starbucks. My room was clean with a comfortable bed. It had a sink, a microwave oven, and little fridge. Yes, the bathroom looked outdated, but it was clean. My room was in the back of the complex and it was quiet--except for the kids playing in the indoor pool (but the pool closes at 10:30). The property looks well maintained--with an indoor pool, an outdoor pool, a restaurant, treed, and convenient parking. I thought it was a nice stay and at a good price. (And although I did not bring my dogs, I did notice that you can bring pets (but that might only be for certain rooms--so you'll need to check with the hotel)).

Room Tip: Try to get a room toward the back of the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoTripper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

"Where does the 'plus' stand for?
The interior is very outdated; from the seventies, (almost) no wifi, but advertised with wifi. PC's in lobby are outdated and have slowww internet.
We had a midget toilet...
Another important downside, because of extreme thin walls this hotel is noisy, you can hear every step on upper floors. We had the bad luck as well of having neighbours who didn't care about the quiteness at all and made a lot of noise untill very late.. "
Something positive? We had good shower beam. From the outside the hotel looks fine, the property grounds are nice. I have to say that we were dissapointed in general with the accommodation possibilities near Yosemite. If you can afford to, get a hotel in the park, of stay on the campgrounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phutjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wgputnam, General Manager at Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Plus stands for the added amenities we provide over other Best Westerns.

Sorry about the issues with the wireless internet. When our system was originally installed the useage by our guest was no where near the demand that the system now has. We are currently in the process of adding a fiber optic backbone, adding additional band with and access points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We. Stayed only one night and can confirm a lot of the reports written here. Rooms were very clean, but old styled. The tv was an old style non plasma tv. Staff at the reception was pk, however we have seen much mire friendly staff on our tour. Pool was very good. Clima system was ok but old styled. Breakfast room was pk, we goz a 20 percent discount. Wifi was very weak.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmallm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#6 of 9 in Oakhurst
172 reviews
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,908 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing