We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the area and will go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Loved the area and will go back”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great hotel even though we had to wait for our room to be cleaned...the bed and pillows were so comfortable after a long drive.
Too bad no 'free' breakfast though.

Room Tip: call ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheapEats019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    1,005
    440
    114
    52
See reviews for
896
972
44
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

If the hotels in Yosemite are fully booked, you have two options: a few motels just outside the park on Hwy 140 (just 20 minutes from Yosemite Village) or motels in Oakhurst on Hwy 41 (approx 1.5 hrs from Yosemite Village) There are a number of hotels in Oakhurst and we stayed at the Best Western. The exterior and lobby are cute with a woody, cabin decor. The sleeping rooms aren't great but you can make it through one night. The carpet is dirty and the bedspreads/blankets haven't been cleaned in a long, long time. (why can't they just give us clean white sheets and skip the dirty bedcovers?) The bathroom was clean. We had one standard room and one large family room (Room 100) I'd avoid Rm 100 - it's like being in a dark dingy basement. Thee aren't many options close to Yosemite. Oakhurst had more roadside motels, none looked as promising as the Best Western from the outsde. There is one nice hotel that's more expensive but probably worth it - the Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite. We checked out the lobby and grounds and will stay there next time.

Room Tip: Try the Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite - it's the nicest hotel just outside the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler222Irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

BW plus hotel is located in the heart of the Oakrust town. Nice small town.
We stayed in the hotel just for a night in the middle of August. We've really liked review about the hotel. This was the reason why we decided to stay in BWestern.
We were really looking forward to that hotel. We've tried to book another night but it was not available.
The lobby is nice, looked just like the pictures. The rooms are in a different buildings then the lobby and looks more like a motel. Our room was in front of the swimming pool. We got to hotel around 9pm. Checking in was fast and no problems. The rooms itself was very dark and I found it kind of depressing. It also had an unpleasent smell. The sheets had some stains. The bed was comfortable, but around the bed there was a lot of dust. The swimming pool was nice but it was to cold to enjoy it for me so we went to hot tub instead.
We went to restaurant for supper, but we were asked to sit and we were waiting for half an hour and noone payed attention to us so we left.
A food store is just 5 minutes driving distance to the hotel.
We ate breakfast at Subway and returned to Yosemite park. Hotel is located 20 min. drive to south entrance to the park.
For me this hotel was overpriced. We payed 160$ (tax incl) for two queen size beds. Also be prepared to pay extra around 11$ for a night for turist tax.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewunia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We spent 2 nights there and we were 3 couples of friends... What a nice hotel! Nice and spacious room with comfortable beds, clean bathroom and nice decoration on the wall. Our room had also a terrace overlooking a green area. Everything was so relaxing and nice! We enjoyed breakfast which was really energizing :-)
Location is good as it is at easy access to the park.
Friendly staff.
We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here for our spring break trip and had a lot of fun. We enjoyed the indoor pool, although it could have been a warmer water temperature. The room worked out well. We had the 2 queens + 1 separate queen room. We stayed with another couple and our 2 kids. It wasn't quite as separate as we would have liked but would have been perfect for just 1 family. We had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. We did have an issue with ants in our room. All in all, we were quite pleased and felt like it was a great value for our money and an easy drive to Bass Lake and Yosemite.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFamily525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western in Oakhurst this July while we were visiting Yosemite.
Were had a very nice room. It was roomy and had a microwave and frig and a nice large bathroom.
The room was close to the street but we had no problem with street noise.
We had no problem with the wi-fi. Just make sure that you are connected to the network with the strongest signal.
The drive to the Park entrance was about 20 minutes. The drive to the Valley was a hard 1 hour and 15 minutes.
For breakfast we took advantage of the frig and microwave in the room We went to one of the nearby grocery stores and got breakfast food and OJ and plastic silverware and paper towels.
By doing this we were able to get on the road early each morning.
Due the heavy rain and snow at the Park this year, we were able to enjoy the magnificent water falls.
PS we also had a problem with the rude hostess at the restaurant.. The restaurant was mostly empty when we arrive for dinner. It took so long for the hostess to seat us that we just left and went elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Liked this place despite the high cost. Outdoor pool really nice, rooms (suites) quite large and reasonably appointed. Decoration a bit dark, and bathrooms a bit drab and could do with a refurb, but overall very nice. Wi-fi not good anywhere away from the main building (rooms are arranged in the grounds).

Grounds are very pleasant and private; feels like resort.

No hotel restaurant, but the independent one on-site where breakfast is served turns out surprisingly good food for dinner for the type of place it appears when you walk in. Expensive though.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
156 reviews
9.5 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
24.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Address: 40530 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 135 quiet and beautiful guest rooms have either deluxe queens, kings, or twin queen sized beds and there are 2-bedroom family units available for up to six people. Most rooms have a mountain view or garden setting and many have balconies and patios. Our hotel offers free High Speed Internet Access, In-room coffee, local calls Premium TV with HBO, CNN, ESPN standard for your enjoyment and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Hotel Oakhurst
Best Western Oakhurst
Oakhurst Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing