We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad choice for the area…”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice for the area…”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is the second time we’ve stayed at this Comfort Inn when visiting Yosemite National Park and have found this property to be a pretty good value.

Service at the front desk was cordial and efficient. This Comfort Inn is a bit motel-like as it has neither indoor corridors nor elevators. It’s set back from Highway 41, so the property is fairly quiet.

Our room was clean and spacious enough, and contained a refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV, but the free wireless Internet signal was a bit spotty. The bed was as comfortable, and the appliances and plumbing worked fine. The nightly rate was very reasonable. Light sleepers may want to bring ear plugs as the rooms are definitely not sound-proof. During this visit, we had a thin ceiling; during our previous visit it was a thin wall.

The complimentary breakfast area offered a decent variety; available items included scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, and yogurt. There is limited seating inside, but there is additional seating outdoors. The lady attending to the breakfast area was very diligent in keeping the food items and coffee stocked.

The town of Oakhurst doesn’t really have any high-end (or even moderate-level) hotel options, so given the available choices, I can recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    247
    171
    52
    33
See reviews for
183
232
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The rooms were clean with new bedding, paint and flat screen TV with DTV. The grounds were well kept as was the pool area. Breakfast was better than most with eggs, sausage, waffles, pastry etc. I'd stay here again.

My only complaint was that the front desk clerk was a little on the crabby side. Maybe the first person you see when you check-in shouldn't be a "growler".

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcgilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is by far, the best place to stay for easy access to Yosemite without staying inside the park. It is located 14 miles from the south gate and 16 miles from the Mariposa Grove of Giant Sequoias. The rooms were clean and comfortable with all of the equipment in good working order
Check-in and check-out was good and the breakfast was the usual Choice Hotels hot breakfast of eggs, waffles, cereal, bread and sausage., etc. The staff was helpful and polite.
Be advised that this is a busy hotel and is subject to the goings and comings of tour groups and people from everywhere; so if you are looking for peace and quiet, you may not find it here. It is fairly quiet, but it is next to a bar which can be a little noisy.
Also, it is pet friendly.

Room Tip: Try to stay near the back away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna, philippines
Level Contributor
441 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

First impression was a so-so hotel. It turned out to be a very nice spacious room! Breakfast was ok. Restaurants, Laundromat, gas station nearby. Yosemite park entrance was about an hour away. Oakhurst has everything you need for a jump off point. Had I known it was a small charming town- I would have stayed longer than two nights...Cons: no microwave in room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamabelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've spent time in a lot of motels while traveling by motorcycle. This is one of the nicest motels I have ever stayed at. The rooms were clean and plenty roomy for my wife and I. Even the bed was great! It was nice coming back each afternoon, after riding all day in the area, to a clean room and a nice hot shower. We slept well, which is saying a lot. I usually get little sleep when not in my own bed. There are plenty of eateries (and drinkeries!) near by.
The only gripe, and it's a small one, would be the breakfast area. The breakfast is free, but the room it's in is far too small to handle all the people trying to grab eggs, cook waffles, etc, even if you include the patio space outside. The staff is first rate.
I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Large comfortable room. Very clean. Breakfast was very good and varied. Friendly staff. Easy , free parking in front of the room. Next door to the hotel there is a bar named 'Dirty Donkey' , very convenient for some drinks without having to drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquimalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Typical Comfort Inn, though this one is two stories and spread out, so everyone does not filter thru the lobby. The included breakfast was typical for free breakfast, but I would have to downgrade a little because the area is not large enough to handle the number of people that stay here

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
158 reviews
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
2.0 mi away
Mountain Trail Lodge
Mountain Trail Lodge
#8 of 9 in Oakhurst
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Area

Property: Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Address: 40489 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic small-town friendly Western lodging. We are the closest town to Yosemite National Park, just a 20-minute drive. Our 117 rooms were just renovated and we are in the middle of Oakhurst, close to all stores, restaurants, medical care, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area Hotel Oakhurst
Comfort Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing