We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to visit Yosemite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The motel was well positioned to visit the south of Yosemite. It's an one hour drive. We had a quit room at the back of the motel with mountain view. The room itself was spacious, clean, the motel has well working free wifi and a pretty good complementary continental breakfast. The pool looked a bit small for the capacity of the motel, but in spring it was sufficient.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 635 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We chose Oakhurst to go to Yosemite because it was cheaper. It's a 1-hour drive to Yosemite Valley, but the drive to it is already fantastic. You can also visit Mariposa Grove with the Sequoia trees.
Oakhurst is a typical American town with motels and restaurants at the side of the road.
Comfort in is a big motel. Staff at the checkin was not that friendly.
The room was ok, but the tv was difficult to work with. The bathroom was too small, you can't be in it with 2 persons at the same time.
The continetal breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The place is quiet, the room we stayed in was simple but clean and organized. Recommended for those who want a convenient location and close to Yosemite Park. Indicate for a couple or group of three or four friends. Just beside the hotel is the "Dirty Donkey Bar", great for a cold beer with locals and some tourists, good music on the jukebox and great service. An honest place with reduced price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madcatleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for two nights whilst visiting Yosemite Valley. It is easy to find on the main road and convenient for the south entrance of Yosemite Park. Check in was good and we were allocated a room overlooking countryside, away from the road noise. The room was a decent size with king size bed, desk, sofa and fridge. The bathroom was clean with a good shower, and a good supply of clean towels. The decor of the room is rather tired and it appears dark at first because the bedspread and carpets are a dark colour. However, the bed was very comfortable and and the room quiet, apart from fridge. Our room was on the second floor and although the rooms on either side of us were occupied, we were not disturbed. As stated previously, the breakfast area is far too small for the number of guests, particularly at holiday time. Oakhurst is a nice place with good restaurants,some within walking distance. Overall, good value for money and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper and so I was very pleased with a second floor room at the rear of the hotel, ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

It was ok but not more. The room was little smelly...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexusworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We spent one night (thanks it was only one) in this hotel and I would really not recommend it. The room was really old and smelly (mouldy smell, old dirty carpet). When we open the bed the sheets were dirty and so they were a few of the towels in the bathroom. We complaint to reception and they changed it but still I wonder how it was not noticed by the maids in the first place. In addition to this the bed cover was also old and full of dust. The air conditioning was very noisy.

The breakfast room was very small and absolutely not enough to accommodate the hotel guests, they had placed a few tables and chairs in a terrace outside but this was not still enough so they were asking the guests to take a tray and it in their rooms, what was something really not to look forward to considering the room description I have already provided.

If you plan to stay in the area I would advice to take any other hotel there, if it is not going to be good let it at least be cheap. This was the worst value room in our 3 week trip in the West Coast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a motel, not the Ritz! At the price, we found it very acceptable. With the continental breakfast in the morning and it is a good value. We didn't use the pool, but it did look inviting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eagle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
0.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Valley Gateway
9.6 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5 mi away
The Pines Resort
The Pines Resort
#1 of 1 in Bass Lake
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Yosemite Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Yosemite Area

Address: 40489 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range: $84 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Yosemite Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic small-town friendly Western lodging. We are the closest town to Yosemite National Park, just a 20-minute drive. Our 117 rooms were just renovated and we are in the middle of Oakhurst, close to all stores, restaurants, medical care, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Yosemite Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area Hotel Oakhurst
Comfort Inn Oakhurst
Oakhurst Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing