We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beware: Owner uses Credit Card without permission” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware: Owner uses Credit Card without permission”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Nice town. Most of the staff was reliable. Manager bad mouths staff and owner. Sticky furniture! Slimy Carpet! Dishonest owner!!! He charged our credit cards without our permission! He charged us more than agreed on!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    66
    54
    50
See reviews for
74
85
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

You know that weird, unfortunate smell some old motels have. Well it's here as soon as you open the door to the lobby. The big issue for me was value. If you just need a place to sleep it's not horrible. But almost $200??? Not a fair value for the money. They're riding on their location near Yosemite.

Here's the bad: REALLY old furniture, mattresses that seem to be inverted under the bedspread (super old or just super cheap), a big black bug walking through the room, ants (in bathroom and a couple of dead ones in my bed), really loud water pipes. When people above us showered it sounded like an industrial water pump was in the ceiling. There were also some random black hairs in my bed sheets near the head of the bed. I don't even want to think anymore about that.

Having said all this I noticed a lot of hikers and day trippers from Yosemite. They have a terrific ice machine, friendly staff, they are pet friendly and I noticed laundry facilities which seemed to be used constantly.

I think next time I'll try to stay in Mariposa. Oakhurst was nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: I would recommend being upstairs because of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakhurst hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This inn is greatly located within 30 mins driving distance from the Yosemite South Gate. We got a room which was very big with two big queen beds. All the good stuffs about this hotel ends there. The carpets in the room was horribly bad beyond the tolerable levels of sanitary conditions. If you end up staying in this hotel, never walk bare footed. The sticky dirt from the carpet just sticks with the bottom of the foot forming a brownish/muddy layer. The bath-room looked shabby. Don't fall for the complementary breakfast. You will be better off not eating here - either buy something in the nearby Raleys' supermarket or go get something somewhere else in the town. Not worth for the ~$270 we paid for 2 nights. If you are a part of 3-4, you may look into Best Western or Yosemite South Gate Lodge or you may look into B&Bs if couples. I will NOT stay here if I go back and will NOT recommend to friends/anyone that are looking to have a good value/stay for the money.

Room Tip: We stayed in #147
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Fron desk nice and very helpful. Very spacious rooms, clean and not noisy at all. Very good breakfast. Good location in Oakhurst: 1 block of a mall with supermarket. An very near several restaurants. Also a 1/2 hr by car to Yosemite. Very recomendable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Good value if on a budget. Staff was very friendly, but no uniforms or name tags. Free waffles was the highlight of the breakfast otherwise it was below average. Cleanliness of room could be better. All chair arms were very sticky. We had to wrap the TV remote in a tissue it was very sticky. Bed was comfortable. Just an OK stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TahoeJoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed one night after visiting Yosemite. Located at the far end of the small town, about 40 minutes from the Mariposa Grove of Sequoias.
Close to a couple of restaurants. Check in smooth, requested room at back away from highway which was accommodated.
Check in staff did not wear uniform which always gives a poor first impression.
Advised to use rear entrance off the car park to access our room, this door had a hand written note stating it was not locked but that guests had to ensure it was closed. Unsure whether it was locked at night but it was accessible to any one.
The internal corridor carpet had seen better days and was very worn.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable,but the bed cover has a hole in it.
Fridge, microwave and coffee maker were provided.
The continental breakfast was served in a small room, not large enough to accommodate a rush of guests. The quality of the food was on the poor side.
This hotel gave the overall impression of not having to try too hard as it is close to Yosemite. Next time I would consider other options in Oakhurst.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay on a budget when visiting Yosemite, this is the place. Friendly service and even someone to make you waffles in the morning! No Joke! The continental breakfast is nothing fancy, but someone is there making waffles for you, and delivers them to your table. Very cheery. For an out dated budget hotel, the cleanliness was slightly above expectation. Biggest complaint, the beds were like sleeping on bricks and the pillows are thin. I would suggest bringing your own pillow. However, after a long day of hiking, the beds were not half bad. We stayed in a “suite” with two rooms and a small kitchenette with a microwave and sink. The bathroom also had a spa Jacuzzi. Again, if you are going on a budget, and want a decent place to lay your head, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drkatie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakhurst hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
0.9 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
Oakhurst Lodge Yosemite
#5 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau du Sureau
Chateau du Sureau
#1 of 9 in Oakhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yosemite Sierra Inn
Yosemite Sierra Inn
#6 of 9 in Oakhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst
Address: 48800 Royal Oaks Dr, Oakhurst, CA 93644-9599 (Formerly Ramada Limited Yosemite)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite-Oakhurst Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing