We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop when leaving Yosemite”

Sweetwater Steakhouse
Ranked #15 of 49 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place to stop when leaving Yosemite”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very friendly service. Excellent food quality. Easy access from the road. Large portions, nothing fancy just really good food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    141
    64
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food! Great service!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a simple restaurant with a nice atmosphere and very good staff!
Bar is really ok! Food is delicous. Try the portobello mushroom and the cheese cake dessert! And of course the meat... We liked it so much that we came back next day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Why the criticisms?”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The range of opinion on Trip Advisor is so interesting, isn't it? How can some strongly dislike a vendor that others love ? Well I certainly do not have the answer to that but my hubby and I thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant and don't have any criticisms of it. We received excellent service in spite of arriving dirty, dusty and probably smelly from a full day of hiking in nearby Yosemite NP. (We were too hungry to head back to the cabin and shower and apologized to the server for our appearance but she was totally fine with this.) We found the decor to be upscale, not dated as another contributor suggested. (?) My husband pronounced his steak (their Signature one) to be one of the best he has had! Every entree came with accompaniments not ala carte as we had expected. My shrimp dish was delish too! We were pleasantly filled in leaving, something that we can't always say after vigorous exercise.The price was more than reasonable for the portions and quality. This was worth the drive from Yosemite west!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011lovinitsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great steak at a reasonable price”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The restaurant is somewhat dated; reminds me of steakhouses from the 1970s and 1980s. However - and most important - the food was excellent, and the service prompt and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kwmthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food! don't be fooled by the interior”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ate here twice for lunch; both were great. The turkey burger was tender, and the portibello mushroom sandwich was delicious. Have the sweet potato fries with your food - they are huge - and delicious! The interior is dark wood paneling like most places years ago, but the food as state of the art, reasonable, and best of all - DELICIOUS!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainCabinets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sweetwater Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing