We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too busy to serve us at 8 pm?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sweetwater Steakhouse

Sweetwater Steakhouse
Ranked #16 of 49 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too busy to serve us at 8 pm?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Walked in at 8 pm with only a few tables full. The couple in front of us were seated and told they didn't have any menus to give them they had been too busy... we were told they couldnt accommodate us they just had a table of 5 people come in. 5 people?? We were excited to try this restaurant after the great reviews on trip advisor. This place wasn't busy. Maybe they needed more help. It was a monday night. We could've waited around to be seated but there were no promises of how long we would wait, which seemed crazy as there were plenty of vacant tables!!! After being in yosemite we opted to go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedom352013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    137
    59
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Little more how old fashioned US restaurants used to be,great service and steaks that melt in your mouth. Best meal we had in Oakhurst ..oh and do try the sweet potato fries..

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good value and delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The service was very good even though it was very busy. Food was excellent, the signature steak in particular. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The prime rib dip was tasty. I got it with pepper jack cheese. The chicken sandwich was tasteless. I don't recommend it. The portions were average. Just enough to fill you up.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iamvonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The price was terrific for a family of 4. Excellent steak. One of us had tiger shrimp that was exceptional. Wanted to get back to try the trout but the kids wanted pizza the 2nd night we stayed. Don't pass this restaurant up. It doesn't look like much from the outside and the parking is tight, but when we ate there, there was no other restaurant in the area that could match it for taste or price. A gem.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris56NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwater Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sweetwater Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing