We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hounds Tooth Inn
Nearby Hotels
$185
$165
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Sky Ranch(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$246
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Inn by the River(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Sierra Inn(Oakhurst)
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$283
$260
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$548
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
191
84
27
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
84
27
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer houseglass of wineother guestsgas fireplacejacuzzi tubyosemite valleysit outsidelong drivethe main housecomfy bedyogurtstayed for nightsice machinegreat place to stayglacier pointhtipark
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 324 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nestled down a hill near the southern entrance of Yosemite in Oakhurst, the Hounds Tooth Inn offered good value for the price for our 5-day stay. The breakfasts offered little variety with a scrambled egg dish and bought pastries every day but were serviced in a cheery, airy breakfast room. Yogurt, cold cereals, toast, English muffins along with fresh orange juice, coffee and hot water for tea was available from 8-10am. Wine became available in the evening until 9:00 pm. Our room was one of the most inexpensive but nicely appointed, clean and roomy enough with a queen-sized bed, 2 sitting chairs, settee at the window, a refrigerator and small flat screen TV and in suite toilet/shower. We made use of the patio chairs outside that were in several different groupings and settings overlooking the small stream and valley. The gardens are a “work in progress” but the birds were plentiful for my birder husband to enjoy. A small library of books and DVD’s were available for use. Oakhurst had enough variety in evening eateries after a long day in Yosemite that we found the location adequate for our daily forays into the park and environs. The inn was changing proprietors during our stay so you need to check the reviews after October 4, 2012 to get the most current status.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with no elevator so anyone with limited mobility needs to ask for a first floor room. Views out the front half of the 2nd floor had a better view than ours.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for one night in the Garden Inn room. Bed was comfortable and room clean. They offered complimentry glass of wine and had a wine bar. Breakfast was continental style. They didn't keep up with the food service, the scrambled eggs ran out and so did the coffee. They did not have a coffee pot in the room. Host didn't seem very friendly at checkin or at breakfast. They did offer a paper they gave the area food establishments, which was a helpful.

Room Tip: The Garden Inn room is great for those in a wheelchair or those who need rails in the bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the Hounds Tooth. Our room was fine - comfortable and clean. A bit overdone with the kitsch. The breakfast was a major disappointment. Especially the coffee. It was close to unpalatable, very weak and looked like strong tea. The breakfast buffet area was cramped which made serving yourself difficult when other folks were lined up. None of the offerings appeared to be home made - commercial pastries and cereal, serving dishes still had plastic wrap pulled back; not what I expected for the price. The El Cid, within walking distance, was fantastic and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here one night on the way to Yosemite. Staff very nice. Rooms very comfortable and large. Breakfast was good. Very relaxing sitting outside with a cup of coffee. Would recommend this b&b to anyone visiting Yosemite or bass lake.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor beside reception and it was lovely x
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonka68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As most of the reviews say, this Inn holds up to it. We were glad we chose this Inn while our visit to Yosemite. We stayed for 2 day/nights. The check-in was smooth and the front desk staff is/are friendly. After I made the reservation through online, they called my mobile to confirm the booking. The rooms were very spacious and the was bed was extremely big/comfy (Calif King size). There is a big Jacuzzi right in front of the bed and the bath room has a walk-in shower place (for 2) as well. This Inn has a nice green lush garden with bamboo like chairs, which are nice to relax in the evening. The garden (or chairs in front of the rooms) is so good that we decided to get togo for dinner from nearby restaurants and sit leisurely & dine in the garden. The location of this Inn is very convenient/near to the Yosemite south entrance and it just takes less than 30 mins to reach the south gate/Mariposa Grove. We had only one complaint - Breakfast was not great. The options/choices were less and the coffee was horrible. We had to request the inn-keeper for the refills (Juice, Butter, Half-Half, Jam, Bread etc..,) every time. Apart from the mediocre breakfast, we had a great time here and would recommend to any couple that are looking for a great B&B near the south gate entrance. While you stay here don't miss out the near-by Mexican restaurant El CID (obviously we got TOGO :))

Room Tip: We reserved the Garden View/facing room (#4)
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews