We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of Hounds Tooth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hounds Tooth Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here one night on the way to Yosemite. Staff very nice. Rooms very comfortable and large. Breakfast was good. Very relaxing sitting outside with a cup of coffee. Would recommend this b&b to anyone visiting Yosemite or bass lake.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor beside reception and it was lovely x
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonka68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    81
    24
    9
    11
See reviews for
44
209
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As most of the reviews say, this Inn holds up to it. We were glad we chose this Inn while our visit to Yosemite. We stayed for 2 day/nights. The check-in was smooth and the front desk staff is/are friendly. After I made the reservation through online, they called my mobile to confirm the booking. The rooms were very spacious and the was bed was extremely big/comfy (Calif King size). There is a big Jacuzzi right in front of the bed and the bath room has a walk-in shower place (for 2) as well. This Inn has a nice green lush garden with bamboo like chairs, which are nice to relax in the evening. The garden (or chairs in front of the rooms) is so good that we decided to get togo for dinner from nearby restaurants and sit leisurely & dine in the garden. The location of this Inn is very convenient/near to the Yosemite south entrance and it just takes less than 30 mins to reach the south gate/Mariposa Grove. We had only one complaint - Breakfast was not great. The options/choices were less and the coffee was horrible. We had to request the inn-keeper for the refills (Juice, Butter, Half-Half, Jam, Bread etc..,) every time. Apart from the mediocre breakfast, we had a great time here and would recommend to any couple that are looking for a great B&B near the south gate entrance. While you stay here don't miss out the near-by Mexican restaurant El CID (obviously we got TOGO :))

Room Tip: We reserved the Garden View/facing room (#4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I am glad I trusted the reviews for this Inn...it was great! Super clean and cozy. Bed was very comfortable...had one of those foam toppers. We stayed in the Willow Corner room and loved it. Nice outside areas to sit and relax and a great location just outside of Yosemite. However the road to get to the park, even though not long, seemed like it took forever because it was so winding!! Are there any straight roads in California?? Also, we didn't get to meet Bill the Innkeeper...there was a young man working the desk who's english was not good and was a bit difficult to understand. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hounds Tooth Inn for 3 days from 6th September.

The room was pristine and decorated to a Victorian theme. The owner/manager was friendly and helpful. We found the bed extremely comfortable and had our first good nights sleep since leaving the U.K on 2nd September.

Breakfast excellent, with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt, etc. During the evening complimentary wine is served.

Perhaps one minor point, breakfast is possibly served a little late, 8.00am - 9.00am, especially if you want to visit the park early morning. But that said we had a truly wonderful stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are individually decorated and are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_and_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hounds Tooth Inn on our way to Yosemite. The room was pristine and the bed was very comfortable. In the evening there was complimentary wine in the main lobby. The breakfast was homemade and delicious. It's location was very convenient to the south entrance to the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Room decor is rather tasteful and a great size room. Breakfast is good with a cooked omelette type dish. Only suggestion is the 1 ply toilet paper and in shower soap dispenser is not the epitome of fanciful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TootBraunstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were bummed when we couldn't get a cabin in owe of the campgrounds inside Yosemite Park. We started shopping around in the local town of Oakhurst which is about 30 mins from the entrance to the park, and it just so happened that someone had cancelled their reservation at this hidden gem that same afternoon! Boy were we lucky!! It is the quaintest (not sure if real word) hotel i think i've ever stayed at! From the friendly, warm and inviting hosts to the cute decor in the rooms and surrounding grounds, not to mention the complimentary wine in the evening when we arrived, this place was so good, I felt compelled to check my receipt to make sure We had really only paid $130 for this room!! It really is a great little hotel. I promise you won't be disappointed here but book in advance as they are always booked full!! (even though you won't be able to tell since the rooms are all in their own little nook on the grounds and it is sooo peaceful there...) We wanted to stay a second night but our room had unfortunately already been booked for that night:(

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elia8386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakhurst
1.6 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
23.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
7.8 mi away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
23.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hounds Tooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hounds Tooth Inn

Property: Hounds Tooth Inn
Address: 42071 Highway 41, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8515
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hounds Tooth Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hounds Tooth Inn is a cute, 12-room, Victorian style Bed and Breakfast located in Oakhurst, CA, just a short distance from Bass Lake and Yosemite National Park in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hounds Tooth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hounds Tooth Hotel Oakhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing