We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau du Sureau
Nearby Hotels
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$222
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites(Oakhurst)(Great Value!)
$204
$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pines Resort(Bass Lake)(Great Value!)
$196
$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
235
19
5
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
19
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselderberry houseeuropean stylefour poster bedmint roomfairy talewhisked awaygrand saloniron gatemagical placeseparate reviewan absolute treatgeranium roomhomemade granolaromantic weekendevery requesttook care of our luggagehot tea
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 267 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Chateau Du Sureau. Our travel agent in Melbourne researched this wonderful accommodation for us to stay and explore Yosemite. This was perfect in every way. We arrived late the first night and were welcomed as if it was a home. All the staff could not have made us feel more comfortable. Some of the wonderful touches that made it so special were, home made snacks left in our room, a morning hot drink bought to our room before breakfast , the open fire place in our room and water and nuts for our day trips. Each breakfast time, Jan looked after us and the 2 meals in the restaurant were delicious. What was was so special about our stay was the pride that was taken in all aspects of the food , a different menu each day and the flawless service. There was attention to every detail throughout our stay. I would recommended Chateau Du Sureau for the ultimate in being pampered in every way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trav54828487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The service in this hotel is absolutely outstanding. You are greeted at the front door, called by your surname and taken to your room, which is of course ready. Delicious home made cookies and cakes wait for you and you are offered delicious welcome snacks and drinks. The hotel is 14 miles from the gate to Yosemite. We had a delicious breakfast served by the kindest staff you can imagine. The only thing that we liked less was the noise of traffic in the garden. Both the room nd the hotel were very quiet instead.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank experienced08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I took an early March break to spend four nights at Chateau du Sureau. We had a relaxing and splendid time. The Chateau is a sparkling gem in the Sierra Foothills approximately an hour from Yosemite National Park. We had two dinners at the Elderberry House, the cuisine was inventive, well served, and excellent quality. The atmosphere at the Elderberry House is rich with it's wine-red walls and chandeliers, comfortable for the time needed to partake of the many courses.
Our room was quiet, relaxing and showed attention to detail. The Chateau served a lovely breakfast (always a surpirse course with croissants and brioche) in the morning. Anything we needed it was attended to for the asking. The service is attentive yet allowing for privacy. Adding to the splendor is the nightly pillow chocolates, the beautiful garden grounds, the comfortable great room for reading next to the fire, the big walk-around chess set in the forest grounds, and all who are there at the Chateau to make your stay memorable. Thank you Erna and everyone at the Chateau, a Sierra Foothill gem.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ame570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The accommodations are perfect for a get away. The service could not be better. And the food ... Exquisite. Had dinner in the restaurant on site which is truly gourmet. The croissants in the morning - breakfast is included- the best outside of Paris.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Though we have stayed here many times, I have yet to write a review and it is long overdue! Erna, the creative genius behind the Chateau created a sanctuary from the one's daily existence. Though situated in a beautiful location that borders Yosemite, the best time there is the time spent reconnecting with one's loved one. I will never forget our first visit over 15 years ago which opened up another world that we were unfamiliar with. From the impeccable service and care of their guests to the sumptuous bedding, the incredible spa, and the out of this world restaurant to the excellent breakfasts we had in Chateau dining area. We loved this little piece of heaven enough to have our wedding and reception there. There simply are no words that could provide for anyone a inkling of what one could experience there. You simply have to go... It is a special place and will always be a place we never wanted to leave.

Room Tip: The rooms are wonderful but our favorites are the Elderberry and Rosemary rooms...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beemer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews