We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to come back to after a long day's hike”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 10 Oakhurst B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights in Vulture's View and enjoyed our stay very much. The location is excellent for accessing Yosemite and also close to Oakhurst for restaurants etc in the evening. It was a great place to relax after a day's sightseeing.

We had a room with the mountain views, overlooking the town and hills beyond. The room was good with a peaceful private deck for us to enjoy.

When we arrived, the owner Judy spent time telling us the best places to go inside Yosemite (which was invaluable) and recommendations on places to eat. We followed all her advice and it really helped us make the most of our stay. Judy was a lovely host and we had a chat with her several times as we were coming and going.

Well-stocked breakfast provisions were given to us on the first day, and a system of leaving a message for Judy when they needed replenishing, so we had plenty of food. When we arrived, one of the items was a loaf of bread (which was great) but it had been left in the room just in a bag so ants had discovered it. It would have been better if it had been put in the fridge. The only other improvement was that there were only paper plates and flimsy plastic bowls to use (although we had 'proper' cutlery and glasses). It would be easy to provide china or at least more solid plastic crockery and we weren't sure why that wasn't the case.

We had a little trouble using the wi-fi as it seemed to drop out readily, but perhaps that's unavoidable in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

As a B&B, is very nice! The owner is so sweet. When we arrived there, we saw three veal! She said that they use to be there. In our room we have a spa with a amazing view. Is a wonderful place to rest and near to Yosemite National Park, another place with incredible view and some wild animals.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a nice stay at Vulture's View B&B. We stayed here to visit Yosemite park. It was about a 14 mile drive to the park entrance from the B&B. Judy was very nice and helpful on giving suggestions for Yosemite. We were a little disappointed with the breakfast choices in our room and we stayed two nights and they were not refilled for the 2nd night we stayed there. Luckily, we had left over pizza from the night before and ate it for breakfast. There are a TON of cats on the property. I was expecting more for the price so in my opinion the value was not there. We stayed in room #2 without the hot tub....that may have helped add some value to the cost.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulturesnest, Owner at Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Prior to Susan's arrival, another couple stayed in the same room for one week and submitted a review to Booking.com. They rated all categories as a 10. After her departure another couple stayed there and verbally expressed that they were very pleased with the room. and the view. We strive to please our guests some are happy and others are not. haappy. Thanks for reading our reviews. Judy@Vultures VIew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Vulture's view really does have a fantastic view. The room we stayed in also had a hot tub looking out over it, which after a long day in Yosemite gave us and our kids some very welcome relaxation. Judy is also very helpful and we appreciated having breakfast in our room ready whenever we wanted it. The room was also clean and comfy.

Room Tip: Pick the one with the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have a mixed feeling regarding Vulture's View.

First off, Judy is such a sweetheart, and super duper helpful in letting you know where to go, when, which route to take, etc.

The front yard is so cute and eclectic at the same time.

The bed, it's not bad, and our room, (room 3) is not bad at all. However, I found hair on the pillow (which is obviously not mine). Not sure if it wasn't changed from the previous guest, or that it was Judy's.

What threw me back is that they didn't serve breakfast. We got there around 5 PM, and was given a plate of cut fresh fruits and a store-bought box of muffins (4), which were delicious regardless. That was it. The next morning there was no hot breakfast. There were cereals in the room, but ~the reason why I love B&B and we always stayed at one during our vacation is because of the breakfast. I love to cook, and I love to eat. So the two really go hand-in-hand.

Maybe they should mention this in their website. If I knew beforehand that there won't be hot breakfast, then I would not feel too disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b3llav1ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vulturesnest, Owner at Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

All I can say is that it is noted on my web site that the breakfast is continental served in your room. It inclludes fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, and a variety of teas. Since, I am not a very good cook, I would probably have more complaints about a hot breakfast. I still strive to please all my guests. Happy touring to all, Judy@Vultures VIew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent two nights at this Charming B&B in Yosemite. From my first email contact with Judy I found her to be extremely helpful and friendly. On arrival she gave us all the information needed for our stay in Yosemite. The room was clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable. We ordered her 'special' picnic lunch for our day trip to Yosemite and it was great! I work in the hotel industry and would have no hesitation in recommending Vultures View to any prospective guest. Thank you Judy for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Judy welcomed us on arrival and gave us the "low down" on what to see and do in Yosemite -- an hour's drive along twisty two-lane highway in the middle of stunning scenery. On our way to our room ("I've given you an upgrade with a view") we spotted a large deer running through the garden. We English city-types were fascinated and trying to juggle our luggage and get our cameras out in time for the big nature picture "They're here all the time, I take no notice" said Judy as she continued to lead the way to Room 2: the room with a view.

We were warned to keep the door closed at night and not just rely on the screen to protect us from the other wildlife that was likely to visit the verandah/porch "We get possum, skunk and racoon coming up here so it's up to you -- just don't leave food around". The view... what can I say? it is lovely and when we had settled into our accommodation we watched the vultures soaring on the thermals before cracking a bottle to sip while watching the sun set behind the mountains sheltering Oakhurst.

Room 2 had a double bed and was equipped with fridge and microwave. Breakfast was "DIY" with muffins, fresh fruit, milk, orange juice yoghourt, cereal and a Mr Coffee for the necessary caffeine. Judy offered to replenish our stock of food supplies on request "I don't read minds so tell me!" The food was good quality and we had enough to keep us going until lunchtime

We liked the informality and the option of having "breakfast" at any time in almost any quantity. An early start to the drive to Yosemite (another good tip from Judy) meant that we were ready to eat around 06:00 (well before most business class hotels start their service). Judy was very helpful and knowledgeable about the local opportunities for evening meals. She also helped us when car trouble meant our exit was delayed. All in all a lovely stay at a great place with a landlady who seemed like a friend after a few minutes.

The only down-side? We saw that dratted deer visiting twice more during our stay but the camera was never on hand!

Thank you Judy!

Room Tip: Do go for the rooms with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosaleenMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakhurst hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
3.6 mi away
Mountain Trail Lodge
Mountain Trail Lodge
#8 of 9 in Oakhurst
134 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Inn Yosemite Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Yosemite Southgate Hotel & Suites
3.5 mi away
Hounds Tooth Inn
Hounds Tooth Inn
#7 of 10 in Oakhurst
323 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sierra Sky Ranch
Sierra Sky Ranch
#4 of 10 in Oakhurst
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast

Address: 39045 John West Rd, Oakhurst, CA 93644-8693
Location: United States > California > Oakhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oakhurst
Price Range: $150 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All name says it all! Can you survive breathtaking sunsets and heart stopping views? Each room has fridge, lcd tv, microwave, coffeepot and wireless internet access. Opened 4-15-07. Private entrances to each room. Close to Yosemite, Bass Lake. A memory making experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Vulture's View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing