We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly employees, delicious hushpuppies”
Review of Alice's Cookhouse - CLOSED

Alice's Cookhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Alice's Cookhouse serves Southern style BBQ and other specialties including Gumbo and Jambalaya in a homestyle setting. While dining enjoy a nice selection of Mammoth Brewery beers. Stop by and see us on your next visit to Yosemite.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Friendly employees, delicious hushpuppies”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Loved the hushpuppies and the great service. The cole slaw was some of the best I've had. Oddly, there were no choices of BBQ sauce - at least that I saw. The brisket was tender and delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    171
    60
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ladera Ranch
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fun place for adults and kids. I didn't give it a 5 star because I didn't like the cole slaw or the chili, but they will gladly substitute something else if you ask. Loved the bread pudding and the Huckleberry ice cream. All kids got free ice cream with their meals, enough to share with the adults.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynstur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Great BBQ - wonderful surprise”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a great little BBQ place that everyone in the family liked. Food was very good, and prices were reasonable. Service was excellent. My daughter left her purse and called an hour later to find that they were holding it for her. The place was crowded but there were enough tables for everyone. Food was served relatively quickly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“More than just a BBQ Restaurant”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Honestly I go to Todd's BBQ for there Veggie Sandwich and salads. They even have soft serve ice cream and beer...yummy! Their BBQ is delicious too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieLynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Easy dinner option”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We're from Texas so we were a little nervous about trying someone else's barbecue but it was fine. Took awhile to get some of our food but the young lady helping us was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Cookhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing