We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Todds remided me of the South” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alice's Cookhouse

Alice's Cookhouse
Ranked #7 of 49 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Alice's Cookhouse serves Southern style BBQ and other specialties including Gumbo and Jambalaya in a homestyle setting. While dining enjoy a nice selection of Mammoth Brewery beers. Stop by and see us on your next visit to Yosemite.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Todds remided me of the South”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place is a gem. A lot like Memphis Style BBQ with a touch of Carolinas. Got a good T-Shirt from them also.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    155
    53
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome southern BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I am a local and this is the best food in town at any price. Small place, great staff and everything on the menu is excellent. Great daily specials! Never disappointed. Brisket is amazing, great jambalaya, wonderful catfish, gumbo is the best! Give it a try, you won't be sorry.

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local yokel review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I try to limit my visit to twice a week. I used to eat here almost everyday. So much so that they created an special sandwich for me called the "Billie Philly"! It's a chopped smoked chicken breast with grilled peppers and onions with melted cheese on a nice soft grilled roll smeared with chipotle mayo. Ask for it by name cause its not listed on menu but Ooh-La-La so damn good. Alice will know what you mean and if you get Todd working the grill it is even more awesome as he just has a great feel with food.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stolpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, average price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I had pulled pork which was very good. Prices were reasonable for amount and quality of food. The atmosphere was casual and appropriate for the type of food. You order at the window and they deliver your food to your table. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GMAVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great barbeque, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Food is excellent, meats are extremely tender & flavorful. Great value! My family & I go often, I also recommend to our guests (work at a local hotel).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Cookhouse also viewed

 

Been to Alice's Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing