We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Place like El Cid!!!!”

El Cid Mexican Cuisine
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Oakhurst
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Orange County, Ca, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Place like El Cid!!!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Took family of 5 to El Cid and WOW! Everything was awesome from the minute we walked in!
We were seated immediately...on a Saturday evening. (They opened up their new addition for us to sit in and within 20 minutes it was filling up!)
The waitress was very kind! Chips and salsa were brought to the table immediately and were awesome!
Margaritas...great flavor, kids loved their food and even tried something new for the first time...other than quesadillas!
Enchilada's were perfect!
Overall, we had an awesome experience...even now we are home, the kids keep asking to go to El Cid for dinner! (We live 7 hours away!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Carolyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    199
    95
    43
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good mexican food”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food is good and serving sizes are big. The chips and salsa served as free apetizer is really good. It has a spicy tinge that makes it very unique. The service is great. Overall it was a great experience. We will be eating here again if in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avijit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a consistent meal”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We go up to the Oakhurst area about once a month, so we probably go to El Cid with friends about 3-4 times per year.
A favorite with the locals, this restaurant is always hopping!
Great margaritas.
Food is good, but it is also your run-of-the-mill menu. Nothing innovative.
If you want something different, try La Cabana Restaurant in North Fork. But you must have reservations, as the place only has about 6-8 tables!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“You Can't Kid EL CID!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This traditional Mexican restaurant is pretty good. The menu is fairly standard for Mexican restaurants, but the food is good and the service is quite satisfactory. We tend to stop here when passing through.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prevere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Put off Mexican food for life!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Having never eaten Mexican food in the US before, we were looking forward to it. We arrived in the early evening after a long hot day in Yosemite Valley. And had to be moved straight away because the air con was so cold in the corner of the room we had been given. Mistake...we were shown to a table in a larger but predominantly empty room with transport cafe decor and plastic chairs.
Having enquired about the meaning of the dishes, we duly ordered and looked forward to our meals.
When they arrived, we were shocked......my burrito, whilst cooked well was smothered in a grey slop like sauce and topped with much too much cheese. It turned out to be refried beans!! My wife and friends were equally unimpressed by their choices. We ate a small amount and left, vowing to not eat Mexican again...the waitress did her best...but she lacked any personality, just like the restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cid Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to El Cid Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing